Skip to Page Content Governor | General Assembly | Courts | Elected Officials | State Agencies
  Photo: Featured Delaware Photo
  Phone Numbers   Mobile   Help   Size   Print   Email

Skip Navigation LinksDNREC : News : Former State Senator Joseph Booth receives Legislative Award from Delaware Association of Conservation Districts

DNREC News Header Graphic

Former State Senator Joseph
Booth and DACD President
Wendy O. Baker.

Contact: Michelle Jacobs, Community Relations Officer, Delaware Conservation Districts, 302-739-9921, or Joanna Wilson, DNREC Public Affairs, 302-739-9902.

Former State Senator Joseph Booth receives Legislative Award from Delaware Association of Conservation Districts

DOVER (Feb. 26, 2013) – The Delaware Association of Conservation Districts recently presented former State Sen. Joseph Booth, with its annual Legislative Award, which is given to a legislator for outstanding service, loyalty and devotion to conservation efforts in Delaware.

Mr. Booth began his legislative career as a state representative in 2002 and was later elected as state senator in 2009, serving until 2012. He was a member of the Senate Agriculture, Public Safety, Small Business, and Veterans Affairs committees. During those years, Booth was a great supporter of Conservation District programs. 

Booth was a big proponent of the District’s Sediment and Stormwater Program as well as the Tax Ditch Program, and was instrumental in bringing the drainage issues challenging Sussex County to the forefront. As an elected official, he supported many drainage improvement projects through the use of Community Transportation Funds. He also supported increased cover crop funding through the Bond Bill, which brought an additional $425,000 to Delaware’s conservation districts.

In 2011, Booth co-sponsored Senate Bill 117, which was an act to facilitate the acquisition and the preservation of agricultural lands by young farmers. He was also instrumental in the creation of the Flood Plain and Drainage Advisory Committee in an effort to develop minimum drainage standards and specifications throughout the state.

“I’m honored to have presented Senator Booth with the DACD Legislative Award on behalf of our Association,” DACD President Wendy O. Baker said. “Ongoing commitment and support of our legislators affords Delaware’s three conservation districts the opportunity to continue their efforts in conjunction with their partners and landowners to conserve Delaware’s precious natural resources.”

“I am humbled by this award,” said Mr. Booth. “I have long respected what the conservation districts do with the little they get. Legislators would do well by keeping themselves informed about their local conservation district.”

Past recipients of the DACD Legislative Award include Senators David McBride, Thurman Adams Jr., Nancy Cook, Gary Simpson, and Robert Venables, Sr., as well as Representatives Bobby Quillen (deceased), George Carey, Robert Gilligan and Pam Thornburg-Bakerian. 

The DACD is a statewide organization for the supervisors of Delaware’s three conservation districts. DACD is a voluntary, non-profit alliance which provides a forum for discussion and coordination among the state’s Conservation Districts as they work to ensure the wise use and treatment of our natural resources. 

For more information about the Delaware Association of Conservation Districts, please call 302-739-9921. 

Vol. 43, No. 60
Want your news hot off the press? Join the DNREC press release email list by sending a blank email to
site map   |   about this site   |    contact us   |    translate   |