Contact: Joanna Wilson, DNREC Public Affairs, 302-739-9902
DNREC Division of Fish & Wildlife announces arrival
of 2015/16 Delaware Hunting and Trapping Guide
Hunters, trappers reminded to buy 2015/16 licenses now available
DOVER (July 1, 2015) – DNREC’s Division of Fish & Wildlife is excited to announce publication of the 2015-2016 Delaware Hunting and Trapping Guide. This year’s cover features the winning photograph in the 2014/15 Hunting Photography Contest, “Sunrise Over Assawoman Bay,” by Scott Lee of Laurel. The guide is available now at participating license agents throughout the state, at the Division of Fish & Wildlife’s licensing desk in the Richardson and Robbins Building at 89 Kings Highway in Dover and online at 2015-2016 Delaware Hunting and Trapping Guide.
Hunters and trappers are encouraged to review the guide before heading afield this fall. Season dates for the 2015/16 hunting and trapping seasons are provided, as well as a summary of Delaware laws and regulations pertaining to legal harvest of game species. Migratory game bird seasons have not been finalized pending federal approval and will be published separately at a later date. Readers can also find information on licensing/permit requirements, hunting opportunities on public lands and classes on hunting and trapping offered by the Division of Fish & Wildlife’s Hunter Education Program.
Licenses and waterfowl stamps for the 2015/16 hunting and trapping seasons will go on sale Wednesday, July 1. “Licenses may be purchased from more than 85 authorized license agents located throughout the state, from DNREC’s Dover licensing office in the Richardson & Robbins Building or online by visiting us at www.fw.delaware.gov,” said Recreational License Program Coordinator Candace Dunning, Division of Fish & Wildlife.
Delaware residents age 16 or older and under the age of 65 and non-residents age 16 or older must purchase an adult license to hunt in Delaware. A junior hunting license is available for youths age 13 through 15. Hunters and trappers who are exempt from purchasing a license must obtain an annual, free License Exempt Number (LEN). Hunters who plan to pursue migratory gamebirds such as ducks, geese and doves, must remember to register for an annual, free Harvest Information Program (HIP) number.
Hunters age 16 and older who hunt migratory waterfowl, including resident Canada geese, are required to purchase a Delaware Waterfowl Stamp, which is not required for Delaware resident hunters 65 and over. A Federal Migratory Bird Hunting Stamp, available for purchase online and at U.S. Post Offices, is required for all waterfowl hunters age 16 and older; no exemptions are made for persons 65 years or older for purchasing federal stamps.
Hunters who enjoy hunting on state wildlife areas should note that a $20 State Wildlife Area Deer Stand/Waterfowl Blind Lottery Permit (formerly referred to as the Public Land Use Permit) is required for any hunter using a state deer stand or waterfowl blind acquired through a daily lottery.
“This permit will be linked to your hunting license or LEN number at the time of purchase. So if you purchase your permit at a later date, please remember to have your hunting license or LEN number,” Ms. Dunning said.
The Division of Fish & Wildlife also reminds hunters and trappers to use the Hunter and Trapper Registration System (HTR) to obtain HIP and LEN numbers or to register a deer harvest from smartphones, tablets or PCs. To use the HTR system, visit www.dnrec.delaware.gov/delhunt. If you prefer to talk to a live customer service representative, please call 855-DELHUNT (855-335-4868),
Delaware Waterfowl Stamps and hunting licenses are sold online, at the licensing office in DNREC’s Richardson & Robbins Building, 89 Kings Highway, Dover and by license agents statewide. To find a participating agent, or to purchase a license online, visit Delaware Licenses. For additional information on Delaware hunting licenses, call 302-739-9918.
Vol. 45, No. 213