Contact: Sgt. Gregory Rhodes, Division of Fish & Wildlife Enforcement, 302-739-9913 or 302-542-6102, or Joanna Wilson, DNREC Public Affairs, 302-739-9902
DNREC Fish & Wildlife Enforcement Blotter Feb. 13-20
Reminder for the week: Anglers need fishing license, trout stamp, FIN number for trout season
DOVER (Feb. 22, 2013) – To achieve public compliance through education and enforcement actions that help conserve Delaware’s fish and wildlife resources and ensure safe boating and public safety, DNREC Division of Fish & Wildlife Enforcement agents responded to 21 complaints and issued 45 citations between Feb. 13 and 20. Incidents of note included:
· On Feb. 17, Fish and Wildlife Enforcement agents arrested Jason P. Polly, 35, of Georgetown, and charged him with one felony count of possession of a deadly weapon by a person prohibited and two counts of transporting unlawfully taken antlerless deer. Polly was arraigned in Justice of the Peace Court 3 in Georgetown and released on $500 unsecured bond pending trial in a higher court at a later date.
· On Feb. 16, following an investigation, Fish and Wildlife agents arrested a Sussex County juvenile and charged him with 26 counts of violating wildlife regulations: six counts of possession of unlawfully taken game, six counts of illegal method of take, four counts of failure to tag antlerless deer, four counts of failure to register antlerless deer, four counts of butchering antlerless deer prior to registration, and two counts of hunting waterfowl with prohibited toxic lead shot. The juvenile was arraigned in Justice of the Peace Court 3 in Georgetown, where he was released to the custody of his parents on $6,500 unsecured bond pending trial at a later date in Family Court of Delaware.
· On Feb. 14, after investigating an October, 2012 incident, Fish and Wildlife agents arrested Kay A. Wilkerson, 54, of Frankford, and charged her with one count of hunting license forgery in connection with an incident involving deer tagging. Wilkerson pled guilty to the charge in Justice of the Peace Court 3 in Georgetown, and was ordered to pay $239 in fines and court costs.
Citations issued by violation type included the following, with the number of charges in parentheses:
Wildlife Conservation: Operating a motor vehicle off an established roadway in a state wildlife area (2), and damaging state property (2), New Castle County; Hunting license forgery (1), possession of unlawfully taken game (7), hunting deer with prohibited firearm (6), failure to tag antlerless deer (6), failure to register antlerless deer (6), butchering antlerless deer prior to registration (6), transporting unlawfully taken antlerless deer (2), hunting waterfowl with prohibited toxic lead shot (2), trespassing after hours in a state wildlife area (2), failure to tag wild turkey during last year’s turkey season (1), and hunting wild turkey during last year’s turkey season without completing required hunting safety class (1), Sussex County.
Public Safety: Felony possession of a deadly weapon by a person prohibited (1), Sussex County.
Are you AWARE?
The Fish and Wildlife Enforcement Section would like to remind anglers that with trout season opening downstate at 7 a.m. next Saturday, March 2 and other spring fishing opportunities coming up soon, they will need to purchase their 2013 Delaware fishing license and, if going trout fishing, a trout stamp. Trout will be stocked in Tidbury Pond near Dover in Kent County and Newton Pond outside of Greenwood in Sussex County. Both ponds are currently closed to all fishing through opening day on March 2. Upstate, trout season in six stocked trout streams opens at 7:30 a.m. on Saturday, April 6.
A resident annual Delaware recreational fishing license, which covers fresh and tidal waters as well as crabbing and clamming, costs $8.50 for ages 16 through 64. Persons under the age of 16 and residents age 65 and older are not required to purchase fishing licenses in Delaware, although exempt persons may purchase fishing licenses and trout stamps if they so choose to help support fisheries management and trout stocking efforts. For non-resident anglers age 16 and older, a Delaware fishing license costs $20.
Most trout anglers must purchase a Delaware Trout Stamp, with the exception of anglers younger than age 12 and resident anglers age 65 and older. For residents age 16 through 64, a trout stamp costs $4.20. For residents age 12 through 15, a youth trout stamp costs $2.10. For non-residents, a trout stamp is required for all anglers age 12 and older and costs $6.20.
Both resident and non-resident anglers age 16 and older also are required to obtain a Delaware Fisherman Information Network (FIN) number. The free number is included as part of a Delaware fishing license purchase. License-exempt anglers, including Delaware residents 65 and older, may visit www.delaware-fin.com or call 800-432-9228 toll-free to obtain their free FIN number.
To purchase a fishing license or stamps online, visit www.fw.delaware.gov/fisheries. Complete Delaware fishing information is available in the new 2013 Delaware Fishing Guide, available on the Fisheries website above or in printed form at license agents throughout the state.
For additional information, please contact the Division of Fish and Wildlife, Fisheries Section, at 302-739-9914, or the Division of Fish and Wildlife’s recreational licensing program at 302-739-9918.
Citizens are encouraged to report fish and wildlife and boating violations to the Delaware Fish and Wildlife Enforcement Section by calling 302-739-4580. Wildlife violations may also be reported anonymously to Operation Game Theft by calling 800-292-3030 or online at www.dnrec.delaware.gov/fw/Hunting/Pages/OpGameTheft.aspx . Vol. 43, No. 57