Contact: Sgt. Gregory Rhodes, Fish & Wildlife Enforcement, 302-739-9913 or 302-542-6102, or Joanna Wilson, Public Affairs, 302-739-9902
DNREC Fish & Wildlife Enforcement Blotter Feb. 8-15
Reminder for the week: Get your trout stamp, fishing license now for season opener
DOVER (Feb. 17, 2012) – To achieve public compliance through education and enforcement actions that help conserve Delaware’s fish and wildlife resources and ensure safe boating and public safety, DNREC Division of Fish & Wildlife Enforcement agents responded to 19 complaints and issued two citations involving 14 charges between Feb. 8 and 15. Of particular note are:
· In August 2011, a vessel and motor on a trailer owned by the Division of Fish and Wildlife were stolen from Delaware City. Agents had been unable to locate the suspect in the case until last week, when he was taken into custody by Wilmington Police on unrelated charges. On Feb. 9, Fish and Wildlife agents arrested Theodore Baumgardner, age 38, of Wilmington, and charged him with felony theft of a motor vehicle, felony receiving more than $1,500 in stolen property, second degree felony conspiracy and theft by false pretense. Baumgardner was arraigned at Justice of the Peace Court 20 in Wilmington, and released on $16,000 unsecured bond pending trial at a later date. Agents have so far recovered the vessel and trailer, while the investigation continues for the missing motor.
· On Feb. 10, Fish and Wildlife agents Sr. Cpl. Casey Zolper and his partner K-9 Warden were called to the Old Furnace Wildlife Area between Seaford and Georgetown to assist Delaware State Police in their search for a person believed to be suicidal. Using his specialized training in tracking, K-9 Warden worked with the man’s scent taken from his vehicle and a slipper and quickly located the man, who was unconscious, in a large wooded area. After the man was found by Warden, he was transported to a hospital, treated and stabilized.
· On Feb. 8, Fish and Wildlife agents responded to a report of a woman being attacked in a Clayton neighborhood by a white-tailed deer which may have been raised in captivity. After approaching the animal to take a photo, the woman was head-butted to the ground and suffered a broken wrist. Two agents later located the deer, and after being unable to capture it with a control loop and stick, one agent caught the animal by hand while the other held off a neighbor’s charging pit bull. The deer was turned over to the Wildlife Section.
Citations issued between Feb. 8 and 15 by violation type included the following charges, with the number of charges in parentheses:
Wildlife Conservation: Possession of unlawfully taken game (snow geese) (2), prohibited method of take/hunting waterfowl with a rifle (1), possession of prohibited lead shot (1), all Lewes and Milton.
Public Safety: Carrying a loaded weapon in a motor vehicle (2), hunting from a motor vehicle (2), shooting from a public roadway (2), all Lewes and Milton. (Note: The charges listed under Wildlife Conservation and Public Safety were in connection with a case detailed in a press release issued earlier this week.)
Other: Felony theft of a motor vehicle (1), felony receiving more than $1,500 in stolen property (1), second degree felony conspiracy (1), theft by false pretense (1), all one case, Delaware City. (See details on this case above.)
Are you AWARE?
For this week’s Are You Aware, the Fish and Wildlife Enforcement Section would like to remind anglers interested in participating in the upcoming spring trout season to purchase a license and trout stamp in accordance with state regulations. Trout season opens downstate at 7 a.m. on Saturday, March 3 at Tidbury Pond near Dover and Newton Pond near Greenwood. Trout season opens upstate in six designated trout streams on Saturday, April 7.
Anglers wishing to try their luck are reminded that in addition to Delaware’s normal fishing license requirements, most anglers also must purchase a trout stamp, which costs $4.20 for ages 16 through 64, or a youth stamp, which costs $2.10 for youth anglers ages 12 through 15. A resident annual fishing license, which now covers fresh and tidal waters as well as crabbing and clamming, costs $8.50 for ages 16 through 64. Persons under the age of 16 and residents age 65 and older are not required to purchase fishing licenses in Delaware, although exempt persons may purchase fishing licenses and trout stamps if they so choose to help support fisheries management and trout-stocking efforts. Higher stamp and license prices apply to non-resident anglers.
To purchase a Delaware fishing license or trout stamps online, visit www.fw.delaware.gov/fisheries. Licenses and trout stamps are also available at the DNREC licensing desk in the Richardson & Robbins Building at 89 Kings Highway in Dover, or from fishing license dealers throughout the state.
Citizens are encouraged to report fish and wildlife and boating violations to the Delaware Fish and Wildlife Enforcement Section by calling 302-739-4580. Wildlife violations may also be reported anonymously to Operation Game Theft by calling 800-292-3030 or online at www.dnrec.delaware.gov/fw/Hunting/Pages/OpGameTheft.aspx .
Vol. 42, No. 48