Contact: Sgt. Gregory Rhodes, Division of Fish & Wildlife Enforcement, 302-739-9913 or 302-542-6102, or Joanna Wilson, DNREC Public Affairs, 302-739-9902
DNREC Fish & Wildlife Enforcement Blotter June 6-13
Reminder for the week: Recreational crab pots must be marked, tended
DOVER (June 15, 2012) – To achieve public compliance through education and enforcement actions that help conserve Delaware’s fish and wildlife resources and ensure safe boating and public safety, DNREC Division of Fish & Wildlife Enforcement agents responded to 63 complaints and issued 38 citations between June 6 and 13. Incidents of particular note included:
· On June 10, Buford N.J. Deweese, age 48, of Forest Hill, Md., was arrested in connection with an incident in the Indian River Inlet and charged with one count each of operating a vessel under the influence of alcohol, negligent operation of a vessel, speeding through a slow-no-wake zone, and failing to display navigation lights between the hours of sunset and sunrise. Mr. Deweese was taken into custody, transported to the Bethany Beach Police Department for processing and released, pending a later court date.
· Responding to a report on June 10 from a boat owner, agents are seeking a suspect or suspects responsible for an estimated $6,000 in damage to a 28-foot Grady White fishing boat docked at West Bay Park Marina in Angola. The damage is believed to have occurred between June 3 and June 8, and appeared to have been caused by another vessel. Agents encourage anyone with information about this incident to contact Sgt. Gregory Rhodes, Division of Fish & Wildlife Enforcement, 302-739-9913 or 302-542-6102, or call Fish and Wildlife Enforcement’s 24-hour radio room at 302-739-4580.
· Also this week, Fish and Wildlife Enforcement agents took Cedar Lane Elementary students on a nature hike at Lums Pond, participated in the annual Law Enforcement Torch Run fundraiser for the Special Olympics, and hosted the annual Youth Fishing Tournament on June 9 at Lums Pond, Wyoming Pond and Ingrams Pond, with more than 180 children participating at the three locations.
Citations issued between June 6 and 13 by violation type included the following charges, with the number of charges in parentheses:
Fisheries Conservation: Recreational: Fishing without a license (6), Sussex and Kent counties; possession of undersized summer flounder (1), Sussex County; and possession of undersized blue crab (12), Sussex and Kent counties.
Commercial: Net marking violation (1), Sussex County; fishing with a net in a prohibited area (1), Kent County.
Boating Safety: Operating a vessel under the influence (1), Sussex County; negligent operation of a vessel (2), Sussex County; no life jackets on children age 12 or younger as required by law (2), Sussex County; slow no wake violations (3), Sussex County; operating a motor vessel without a boating safety certificate (7), Sussex County; no boat ramp certificate (2), Sussex County; boating equipment violations (3), New Castle, Kent and Sussex counties; personal watercraft violations (1), Sussex County; and operating a motor vessel with invalid registration (2), Sussex and New Castle counties.
Other: Dumping on state lands (1), New Castle County.
Are you AWARE?
The Division of Fish and Wildlife Enforcement Section agents would like to remind recreational crabbers of the regulations on use of crab pots.
“We cite a lot of anglers in the summer for having too many pots or tending someone else’s pots,” said Sgt. Gregory Rhodes of Fish and Wildlife Enforcement. “Under state fishing regulations, recreational crabbers may not set or tend more than two pots, and the person who sets or tends the pots must be the crab pot owner. In addition, crab pots must be marked with all-white buoys with the owner’s full name and permanent address on the buoys or on an attached waterproof tag. Crab pots also must not be left untended for more than 72 hours.”
For more information, visit www.dnrec.delaware.gov/fw/Fisheries , or check the 2012 Delaware Fishing Guide, available online and at fishing license dealers throughout the state.
Citizens are encouraged to report fish and wildlife and boating violations to the Delaware Fish and Wildlife Enforcement Section by calling 302-739-4580.
Vol. 42, No. 228