Contact: Sgt. Gregory Rhodes, Division of Fish & Wildlife Enforcement, 302-739-9913 or 302-542-6102, or Joanna Wilson, DNREC Public Affairs, 302-739-9902
DNREC Fish & Wildlife Enforcement Blotter: Oct. 8-15
Reminder for the week: Waterfowl hunters, check your gear for prohibited lead shot
DOVER (Oct. 18, 2013) – To achieve public compliance through education and enforcement actions that help conserve Delaware’s fish and wildlife resources and ensure safe boating and public safety, DNREC Natural Resources Police, Division of Fish and Wildlife Enforcement Agents between Oct. 8-15 made 313 contacts with anglers, hunters, boaters and the general public, including eight vessel boardings for boating safety/fishing regulation compliance checks. Agents responded to 32 complaints and issued 28 citations. This week, for the third time since an expanded Fish and Wildlife Enforcement presence was deployed as a deterrent, there were no citations issued at the C&D Canal Conservation Area (formerly the C&D Canal Wildlife Area) and the associated recreational trail currently under construction.
An incident of particular note:
· On Oct. 15, Enforcement agents cited Charles J. Crossan III, 37, of Bear, on charges of failure to tag antlered deer, failure to register antlerless deer and trespassing to hunt on private lands near the C&D Canal Conservation Area. The minimum penalty Crossan faces if found guilty on all three charges totals $1,441 in fines and associated court costs.
Citations issued by violation type included the following, with the number of charges in parentheses:
Wildlife Conservation: Hunting on a refuge (4), failure to display hunter orange during a firearms deer season (1), failure to tag antlered deer (1), failure to register antlerless deer (1), and trespassing to hunt on private lands (1), New Castle County; Trespassing after hours in a state wildlife area (2), and failure to tag antlerless deer (2), Sussex County.
Fisheries Conservation: Recreational: Fishing without a license (1), and possession of undersized croaker (1), Sussex County.
Public Safety: Carrying a concealed deadly weapon-felony (1), first degree reckless endangering-felony (1), and DUI (1), New Castle County; Discharging a firearm on, near or across a public roadway (2), hunting from a motor vehicle (2), and carrying a loaded firearm in a motor vehicle (3), Kent County.
Other: Stopping/standing/parking on a roadway (1), New Castle County; Third degree conspiracy (3), Kent County.
Are you AWARE?
With fall’s first split season for ducks opening Oct. 25, the DNREC Division of Fish and Wildlife Enforcement Section would like to remind waterfowl hunters to check their hunting gear bags, coats, boats and any other gear to make sure they are not carrying any lead shot.
“Small game hunters sometimes forget to remove boxes of lead shot from their hunting bags or accidentally leave extra lead shells in their hunting coat pockets when they go waterfowl hunting,” said Sgt. Gregory Rhodes of Fish and Wildlife Enforcement. “Using lead shot for waterfowl hunting is prohibited to prevent lead contamination of habitats and poisoning of wildlife that may ingest it, and hunters can be fined for possession of lead shot while waterfowl hunting, whether the shot is loaded or simply carried.”
Waterfowl hunters also are reminded to purchase their 2013-2014 Delaware hunting licenses and waterfowl stamps. A resident annual hunting license costs $25 for ages 16 through 64. A resident junior hunting license costs $5 for ages 13 through 15. To hunt waterfowl in Delaware, residents age 16 through 64 are required to purchase a state waterfowl (duck) stamp, and all waterfowl hunters age 16 or older must purchase a federal waterfowl stamp.
Residents younger than 13 or those 65 and older are not required to purchase a Delaware hunting license. However, these license-exempt hunters are required to obtain an annual, free License Exempt Number (LEN). Residents younger than 16 or those 65 and older are not required to purchase a Delaware waterfowl stamp. Higher license prices apply to non-resident hunters, and no exemptions are made for non-residents age 65 and older on purchasing a hunting license or waterfowl stamps.
Hunting licenses and state waterfowl stamps may be purchased from more than 85 authorized license agents located throughout the state, at the DNREC license desk in the Dover office at 89 Kings Highway, or online at Delaware Licenses. Federal waterfowl stamps are available for purchase at U.S. Post Offices.
Hunters who plan to pursue migratory waterfowl also must remember to register for an annual, free Federal Harvest Information Program (HIP) number. To register for a HIP number or a License Exempt Number (LEN), hunters can call toll free 1-855-335-4868 or go to www.dnrec.delaware.gov/delhunt.
For more information on Delaware hunting licenses and regulations, pick up a copy of the 2013-2014 Delaware Hunting and Trapping Guide at DNREC’s Dover license desk, your local license agent, or by visiting 2013 Hunting Guide. For details on waterfowl seasons, click 2013-2014 Waterfowl Season Summary.
The DNREC Division of Fish and Wildlife recognizes and thanks the majority of anglers, hunters and boaters who comply with and support Delaware’s fishing, hunting and boating laws and regulations. Citizens are encouraged to report fish and wildlife and boating violations to the Delaware Fish and Wildlife Enforcement Section by calling 302-739-4580. Wildlife violations may also be reported anonymously to Operation Game Theft by calling 800-292-3030 or online at www.dnrec.delaware.gov/fw/Hunting/Pages/OpGameTheft.aspx.
Vol.43, No. 408