Contact: Sgt. Gregory Rhodes, Fish & Wildlife Enforcement, 302-739-9913 or 302-542-6102, or Joanna Wilson, DNREC Public Affairs, 302-739-9902
DNREC Fish & Wildlife Enforcement Blotter Feb. 29 - March 7
Reminder for the week: Anglers need fishing license, familiarity with regulations
DOVER (March 9, 2012) – To achieve public compliance through education and enforcement actions that help conserve Delaware’s fish and wildlife resources and ensure safe boating and public safety, DNREC Division of Fish & Wildlife Enforcement agents responded to 39 complaints and issued 12 citations between Feb. 29 and March 7. Of particular note are:
Citations issued between Feb. 29 and March 7 by violation type included the following charges, with the number of charges in parentheses:
Wildlife Conservation: Operating a motor vehicle off established roadway (1), C&D Canal Wildlife Area near St. Georges; destruction of state property (1), Nanticoke Wildlife Area near Bethel.
Fisheries Conservation: Recreational: Fishing without a license (5), Nanticoke River near Laurel, Hearns Pond near Laurel; illegal use of cast net in spillway (1), Craigs Pond near Seaford.
Boating Safety: No wake violation (1), Nanticoke River near Laurel; allow use of non-compliant vessel/no life jackets aboard (1), Millsboro.
Public Safety: Speed exhibition (1), C&D Canal Wildlife Area.
Other: Unregistered motor vehicle (1), C&D Canal Wildlife Area.
Are you AWARE?
The Fish and Wildlife Enforcement Section reminds anglers that fishing without a license in Delaware is taking an unnecessary chance with your wallet. A resident license including F.I.N. (Fisherman Information Network) number costs $8.50 – a citation for fishing without it is much more costly: a $106 fine.
To purchase a fishing license or stamps online, or for more information, visit www.fw.delaware.gov/fisheries, or call the Fisheries section at 302-739-9914. For more information on licenses, catch limits and regulations, please see the new 2012-13 Delaware Fishing Guide.
Citizens are encouraged to report fish and wildlife and boating violations to the Delaware Fish and Wildlife Enforcement Section by calling 302-739-4580. Wildlife violations may also be reported anonymously to Operation Game Theft by calling 800-292-3030 or online at www.dnrec.delaware.gov/fw/Hunting/Pages/OpGameTheft.aspx.
Vol. 42, No. 78