Contact: Sgt. Gregory Rhodes, Fish & Wildlife Enforcement, 302-739-9913 or 302-542-6102, or Joanna Wilson, DNREC Public Affairs, 302-739-9902.
DNREC Fish & Wildlife Enforcement Blotter March 7-14
Reminder for the week: Pick up your 2012 Delaware Fishing Guide today
DOVER (March 16, 2012) – To achieve public compliance through education and enforcement actions that help conserve Delaware’s fish and wildlife resources and ensure safe boating and public safety, DNREC Division of Fish & Wildlife Enforcement agents responded to 34 complaints and issued 18 citations between March 7 and 14.
Citations issued between March 7 and 14 by violation type included the following charges, with the number of charges in parentheses:
Wildlife Conservation: Operating a motor vehicle off established roadway (1) and damaging state property (1), C&D Canal Wildlife Area near St. Georges.
Fisheries Conservation: Recreational: Fishing without a license (6), Augustine Wildlife Area near Port Penn, Marshy Hope Wildlife Area near Bridgeville.
Boating Safety: Insufficient life jackets on board vessel (1), Bridgeville; no boating safety certificate (1), Concord Pond near Seaford; child not wearing life jacket (1), Marshy Hope Wildlife Area near Bridgeville.
Other: Loitering (7), Records Pond near Laurel, Seaford Boat Ramp, Redden State Forest near Georgetown.
Are you AWARE?
The Fish and Wildlife Enforcement Section reminds anglers that the 2012 Delaware Fishing Guide is a must-have for their tackle boxes – with creel limits and seasons for gamefish species prominent in its pages – and is now available online and at fishing license dealers throughout the state. The 52-page guide also includes detailed information for anglers, from fishing license basics to maps and state regulations for fresh and salt-water species to showing how fishing license dollars are spent.
Changes for this season include new tautog seasons, size and creel limits; closure of commercial and recreational river herring fisheries; and amended shark regulations that provide increased protection for sandbar and other prohibited shark species. In addition, anglers should check out the section on the Delaware Sport Fishing Tournament for changes in tuna and a size reduction for citation weakfish.
With six violations this week for fishing without a license, Fish and Wildlife Enforcement again reminds anglers that fishing without a license in Delaware is illegal. A resident license including F.I.N. (Fisherman Information Network) number costs $8.50, and the fine for fishing without it is $106.
To check out the 2012 Delaware Fishing Guide or to purchase a fishing license or stamps online, visit www.fw.delaware.gov/fisheries. For more information, call the Fisheries section at 302-739-9914.
Citizens are encouraged to report fish and wildlife and boating violations to the Delaware Fish and Wildlife Enforcement Section by calling 302-739-4580. Wildlife violations may also be reported anonymously to Operation Game Theft by calling 800-292-3030 or online at www.dnrec.delaware.gov/fw/Hunting/Pages/OpGameTheft.aspx.
Vol. 42, No. 85