Contact: Sgt. Gregory Rhodes, Division of Fish & Wildlife Enforcement, 302-739-9913 or 302-542-6102, or Joanna Wilson, DNREC Public Affairs, 302-739-9902
DNREC Fish & Wildlife Enforcement Blotter Sept. 26-Oct. 3
Reminder for week: Hunters must wear hunter orange during firearm deer season
DOVER (Oct. 5, 2012) – To achieve public compliance through education and enforcement actions that help conserve Delaware’s fish and wildlife resources and ensure safe boating and public safety, DNREC Division of Fish & Wildlife Enforcement agents responded to 41 complaints and issued 44 citations between Sept. 26 – Oct. 3. Citations issued by violation type included the following, with the number of charges in parentheses:
Recreational Fisheries Conservation: Fishing/crabbing without a license (6), New Castle and Sussex counties; use of net in prohibited area (1), possession of undersized summer flounder (4), possession of undersized blue crabs (1), and possession of sponge crab (1), Sussex County.
Commercial Fisheries Conservation: Failure to tag commercially taken hard clams (2), unlicensed commercial clamming (2), unlicensed dealing/processing of shellfish (13), falsely reporting a commercial catch (1), and over the recreational limit hard clams (2), Sussex County.
Wildlife Conservation: Hunting migratory waterfowl without required Federal waterfowl stamp (1), operating unlicensed motor vehicle on state wildlife area (1), off-road operation of motor vehicle on state wildlife area (1), New Castle County; use of prohibited shot size/type (1), Kent County; trespassing after hours in a state wildlife area (1), failure to tag deer (1), possession of unlawfully taken game (1), and hunting deer during closed season (1), Sussex County.
Boating Safety: Operating a vessel with insufficient number of life jackets aboard (1), Sussex County.
Public Safety: Clamming in polluted area (1), New Castle County.
Other: Parking illegally in designated handicapped space (1), Kent County.
Are you AWARE?
The DNREC Division of Fish and Wildlife Enforcement Section reminds hunters heading out this weekend for the start of muzzleloader deer season on Friday, Oct. 5 that wearing hunter orange is required for safety during all firearms deer seasons. Firearm deer hunters as well as bow hunters and small game hunters are required to wear no less than 400 square inches of hunter orange on their heads, chests and backs. Deer hunters concealed inside ground blinds must place their hunter orange within 10 feet outside of the blind and at least 3 feet off the ground.
Hunters are also reminded to familiarize themselves with DNREC Division of Fish & Wildlife regulations and statutes before bagging that big buck. On Sept. 26, a Sussex County resident was cited for possession of unlawfully taken game, hunting with a prohibited weapon and failure to check an antlered deer within 24 hours in connection with a case in which a buck was taken with a rifle. The hunter pled guilty to all charges and paid $983 in fines and court costs.
For more information, pick up a copy of the 2012-2013 Delaware Hunting & Trapping Guide (or click Hunting guide online) or the 2012 Delaware Fishing Guide (or click Fishing guide online).
Citizens are encouraged to report fish and wildlife and boating violations to the Delaware Fish and Wildlife Enforcement Section by calling 302-739-4580.
Vol. 42, No. 388