Contact: Lt. Carl Winckoski, Division of Fish and Wildlife Enforcement, 302-739-9913 or 302-542-2115, or Joanna Wilson, DNREC Public Affairs, 302-739-9902
DNREC Fish & Wildlife Enforcement Blotter: Aug. 12-18
Reminder for week: Anglers with lost fishing licenses may print duplicate free of charge
DOVER (Aug. 22, 2014) – To achieve public compliance through education and enforcement actions that help conserve Delaware’s fish and wildlife resources and ensure safe boating and public safety, DNREC Natural Resources Police, Division of Fish and Wildlife Enforcement Agents between Aug. 12-18 made 1,299 contacts with anglers, boaters and the general public, including 339 vessel boardings for boating safety and fishing regulation compliance checks. Agents responded to 52 complaints and issued 54 citations. This week, with an expanded Fish and Wildlife Enforcement presence continuing to be deployed as a deterrent, no citations were issued at the C&D Canal Conservation Area and associated recreational trail currently under construction.
An incident of particular note was:
· On Aug. 16, Fish and Wildlife Enforcement agents arrested Richard Boos, 50, of Pennsville, N.J., and charged him with operating a vessel under the influence of alcohol (OUI) in the Branch Canal near Delaware City. Boos was released, pending court action in which he faces a minimum $200 fine.
Citations issued by violation type included the following, with the number of charges in parentheses:
Wildlife Conservation: Damaging state property on a wildlife area (1), and illegal removal of firewood from a state wildlife area (1), Kent County.
Fisheries Conservation: Recreational: Fishing/crabbing without a license (15), New Castle, Kent and Sussex counties; Possession of undersized blue crabs (7), New Castle and Sussex counties; Possession of undersized black sea bass (1), Kent County; Recreational crab pot tampering/checking crab pots belonging to another (1), improperly marked recreational crab pot (1), possession of undersized white perch (2), possession of undersized croaker (1), and possession of undersized summer flounder (1), Sussex County.
Boating and Boating Safety: Operating a vessel under the influence of alcohol/OUI (1), New Castle County; Failure to observe slow/no wake zone (2), New Castle and Sussex counties; No boat ramp certificate (1), Kent County; Operating a vessel with insufficient number of life jackets (1), no life jacket on a child age 12 or younger as required by law (7), failure to report boating accident (1), no boating safety certificate (5), allowing use of a non-compliant vessel (1), operating a motor vessel with an expired registration/operating an unregistered vessel (3), and boat ramp parking violation (1), Sussex County.
Fish and Wildlife Enforcement News and Training
· On Aug. 12, Sr. Cpl. Jeff Howell instructed and provided a boat trip for students attending Fish Camp at the DuPont Nature Center.
· On Aug. 14, Cpl. Shea Lindale gave a presentation about boating and hunting safety to about 100 children at the Seaford Boys and Girls Club.
Are you AWARE?
The Division of Fish and Wildlife Enforcement Section reminds anglers who misplace their Delaware recreational fishing licenses that duplicate licenses may be printed twice free of charge. Visit Delaware Licenses, choose the option for recreational licenses, and click “Lost Your Recreational License?” A third copy costs $5, and is available through the Dover licensing desk.
With 15 citations issued for fishing without a license Enforcement Section also reminds recreational anglers who fish, crab or clam in Delaware’s tidal or non-tidal waters that they must have a valid 2014 Delaware fishing license – and they are required to carry their fishing license while fishing. The minimum fine with court costs if caught fishing without a license is $106.
A resident annual fishing license costs $8.50 for ages 16 through 64. Higher license prices apply to non-resident anglers. Anglers under the age of 16 and residents age 65 and older are not required to purchase fishing licenses in Delaware. Exempt persons may purchase fishing licenses if they so choose to help support fisheries management in Delaware.
Delaware fishing licenses are sold online, at the licensing office in DNREC’s Richardson & Robbins Building, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, and by license agents statewide. To find the participating agent nearest you, or to purchase a license online, visit Delaware Licenses. For additional information on Delaware fishing licenses, call 302-739-9918.
For more information on fishing in Delaware, click on 2014 Delaware Fishing Guide. The guide also is available in printed form at DNREC’s Dover licensing desk, and from license agents throughout the state.
The DNREC Division of Fish and Wildlife recognizes and thanks the majority of anglers, hunters and boaters who comply with and support Delaware’s fishing, hunting and boating laws and regulations. Citizens are encouraged to report fish and wildlife and boating violations to the Delaware Fish and Wildlife Enforcement Section by calling 302-739-4580. Wildlife violations may also be reported anonymously to Operation Game Theft by calling 800-292-3030 or online at www.dnrec.delaware.gov/fw/Hunting/Pages/OpGameTheft.aspx.
Vol. 44, No. 254