Skip to Page Content
Delaware.gov Governor | General Assembly | Courts | Elected Officials | State Agencies
  Photo: Featured Delaware Photo
 
 
  Phone Numbers   Mobile   Help   Size   Print   Email

Skip Navigation LinksDNREC : News : DNREC Fish and Wildlife Enforcement Blotter Aug 26 to Sept 1


 
 
DNREC News Header Graphic
Contact: Lt. Carl Winckoski, Division of Fish and Wildlife Enforcement, 302-739-9913 or 302-542-2115, or Joanna Wilson, DNREC Public Affairs, 302-739-9902  

DNREC Fish & Wildlife Enforcement Blotter: Aug. 26-Sept. 1
Reminder for week: Time to purchase your 2014-2015 Delaware hunting license 

DOVER (Sept. 5, 2014) – To achieve public compliance through education and enforcement actions that help conserve Delaware’s fish and wildlife resources and ensure safe boating and public safety, DNREC Natural Resources Police, Division of Fish and Wildlife Enforcement Agents between Aug. 26-Sept. 1 made 3,061 contacts with anglers, hunters, boaters and the general public, including 873 vessel boardings for boating safety and fishing regulation compliance checks. Agents responded to 99 complaints and issued 122 citations, three of which of which were related to increased Fish and Wildlife Enforcement presence at the C&D Canal Conservation Area and associated recreational trail currently under construction.

Incidents of particular note were:

·        On Aug. 30, Fish and Wildlife Enforcement agents arrested Edward Demers, 53, of Newark, and charged him with operating a vessel under the influence of alcohol (OUI) on the Delaware River near Augustine Beach. Kreider was released, pending a mandatory appearance in Justice of the Peace Court 11 in Middletown, in which he faces a minimum $200 fine.

·        On Aug. 31, Sr. Cpl. Mari Grehofsky and Sr. Cpl. Greg Rhodes responded to a water rescue call from the Delaware Bay while on routine patrol, and rescued a Smyrna resident who had been in the water about 40 minutes clinging to a life jacket after his canoe overturned while fishing off Slaughter Beach. The canoeist did not require medical treatment, and the canoe and equipment also were recovered.

Citations issued by offense type included the following, with the number of charges in parentheses:

Wildlife Conservation: Operating a motor vehicle off established roadways in a state wildlife area (2)*, and trespassing after hours on a state wildlife area (1)*, New Castle County; Possession of prohibited lead shot while dove hunting on a state wildlife area (2), New Castle and Kent counties; Illegal use of an unplugged shotgun (1) and trespassing in closed area of state wildlife area (1), Kent County; Hunting without a license (3), and migratory bird hunting violation under federal regulations (4), Sussex County.

Fisheries Conservation: Recreational: Fishing/crabbing without a license (28), and possession of undersized blue crabs (11), New Castle, Kent and Sussex counties; Possession of undersized white perch (2), New Castle and Sussex counties; Possession of undersized striped bass (1), and illegal use of net within 100 feet of a spillway (1), New Castle County; Possession of undersized black sea bass (2), and possession of prohibited shark species (2), Kent County; Recreational crab pot tampering/checking crab pots belonging to another (1), Sussex County.

Boating and Boating Safety: Operating a vessel under the influence of alcohol/OUI (1), operating a jet ski/personal watercraft in a swimming area (1), and expired flares/required safety equipment (1), New Castle County; Operating a vessel with insufficient number of life jackets (9), and operating a motor vessel with an expired registration/operating an unregistered vessel (7), New Castle, Kent and Sussex counties; Failure to observe slow/no wake zone (4), and no fire extinguisher on board/required safety equipment (3), New Castle and Sussex counties; No boat ramp certificate (1), Kent County; No boating safety certificate (12), Kent and Sussex counties; Negligent operation of a vessel (1), no life jacket on a child age 12 or younger as required by law (8), water skiing without a life jacket (1), failure to report boating accident (1), and allowing use of non-compliant vessel (1), Sussex County.

Public Safety: Possession of marijuana (2), possession of drug paraphernalia (2), New Castle County; Driving a motor vehicle with a revoked license (2), and improper lane change (1), Kent County.

Other: Parking violations (2), New Castle and Sussex counties.

* These citations were issued at the C&D Canal Conservation Area.

Are you AWARE?
With fall hunting seasons just getting started, the Division of Fish and Wildlife Enforcement Section reminds hunters to purchase their 2014-2015 Delaware hunting licenses and waterfowl stamps. A resident annual hunting license costs $25 for ages 16 through 64. A resident junior hunting license costs $5 for ages 13 through 15.

Residents younger than 13 or those 65 and older are not required to purchase a Delaware hunting license; residents younger than 16 or those 65 and older are not required to purchase a Delaware waterfowl stamp. Higher license prices apply to non-resident hunters, and no exemptions are made for non-residents age 65 and older on purchasing a hunting license or waterfowl stamps. 

To hunt waterfowl in Delaware, residents age 16 through 64 are required to purchase a Delaware waterfowl (duck) stamp. For hunters age 16 and older, a federal migratory bird hunting stamp is required to hunt teal and geese. Federal duck stamps may be purchased at U.S Post Offices, federal national wildlife refuges and online at www.fws.gov/duckstamps. For more information, visit the website above or call 800-STAMP24 (800-782-6724).

Delaware hunting licenses are sold online, at the licensing office in DNREC’s Richardson & Robbins Building, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, and by license agents statewide. To find the participating agent nearest you, or to purchase a license online, visit Delaware Licenses. For additional information on Delaware hunting licenses, call 302-739-9918.

For more information on hunting in Delaware, click on 2014-2015 Delaware Hunting and Trapping Guide. The guide also is available in printed form at DNREC’s Dover licensing desk, and from license agents throughout the state.

The DNREC Division of Fish and Wildlife recognizes and thanks the majority of anglers, hunters and boaters who comply with and support Delaware’s fishing, hunting and boating laws and regulations. Citizens are encouraged to report fish and wildlife and boating violations to the Delaware Fish and Wildlife Enforcement Section by calling 302-739-4580. Wildlife violations may also be reported anonymously to Operation Game Theft by calling 800-292-3030 or online at www.dnrec.delaware.gov/fw/Hunting/Pages/OpGameTheft.aspx.

Vol. 44, No. 304
-30-
9/5/2014
Want your news hot off the press? Join the DNREC press release email list by sending a blank email to
join-dnrec_press_releases@lists.state.de.us.
site map   |   about this site   |    contact us   |    translate   |    delaware.gov