Contact: Sgt. Gregory Rhodes, Division of Fish and Wildlife Enforcement, 302-739-9913 or 302-542-6102, or Joanna Wilson, DNREC Public Affairs, 302-739-9902
DNREC Fish & Wildlife Enforcement Blotter: Jan. 21-27
Reminder for the week: Winter’s a good time to take a boating safety course, prepare for season
DOVER (Jan. 31, 2014) – To achieve public compliance through education and enforcement actions that help conserve Delaware’s fish and wildlife resources and ensure safe boating and public safety, DNREC Natural Resources Police, Division of Fish and Wildlife Enforcement Agents between Jan. 21-27 made 714 contacts with anglers, hunters, boaters and the general public, including 18 vessel boardings for boating safety, hunting and fishing regulation compliance checks. Agents responded to 24 complaints and issued 35 citations, 10 of which were related to increased Fish and Wildlife Enforcement presence at the C&D Canal Conservation Area and associated recreational trail currently under construction.
An incident of particular note was:
· On Jan. 27, Fish and Wildlife Agents arrested Paul B. Dorey, 43, of Georgetown and charged him with possession of a firearm by a person prohibited for deer hunting with a shotgun near Millsboro. Dorey was arraigned at Justice of the Peace Court 3 in Georgetown and released on $10,000 unsecured bond pending trial at a later date. A shotgun was seized as evidence.
Citations issued by violation type included the following, with the number of charges in parentheses:
Wildlife Conservation: Operating a motor vehicle off an established roadway on a state wildlife area (1), failure to check antlerless deer within the required 24-hour period (1)*, failure to check antlered deer within the required 24-hour period (1)*, butchering antlerless deer prior to registration (1)*, butchering antlered deer prior to registration (1)*, and wanton waste of a game animal (1)*, New Castle County; No blind permit (required) on a state wildlife area (4), Kent County; Possession of unlawfully taken game/waterfowl (8), Kent and Sussex counties; Dumping in a state wildlife area (3), New Castle and Sussex counties; Hunting deer over bait on state lands (1), hunting migratory waterfowl after established hunting hours (1), failure to tag Canada geese before leaving the birds with another person (1), hunting migratory waterfowl without required stamps (1), hunting migratory waterfowl without required HIP number (1), hunting migratory waterfowl with an unplugged shotgun (1), and possession of prohibited lead shot while hunting migratory waterfowl (2), Sussex County.
Boating Safety: Carrying a loaded firearm in a motor vessel while underway (2), Sussex County.
Public Safety: Possession and/or consuming alcohol while hunting/possessing firearms (3)*, New Castle County; Possession of a firearm by a person prohibited (1), Sussex County.
* These citations were issued in connection with violations at the C&D Canal Conservation Area; an additional violation at this site is also included above but is not marked with an asterisk: (2) dumping in a state wildlife area charge.
Are you AWARE?
DNREC’s Division of Fish and Wildlife Enforcement Section reminds boaters that now is a good time to prepare for the 2014 boating season by taking a boating safety course through the Delaware Office of Boating Safety and Education.
Delaware law requires that anyone born on or after Jan. 1, 1978 must successfully complete a boating safety course to legally operate a motor vessel – including personal watercraft – in Delaware waters. However, anyone who plans to operate a boat in Delaware is encouraged to take the basic boating safety course to learn or review the rules and regulations of Delaware’s waterways including appropriate speed limits, how to distinguish navigational aids and water depths, and to help develop or improve responsible boating skills and awareness. Also included are weather tips, information about basic engine mechanics and required and/or recommended safety equipment, what to do if an Enforcement agent stops your vessel and a section on the dangers of boating under the influence.
“We have a full slate of boating safety classes posted on our class calendar from February through May, and now is the perfect time to sign up and take a class before boating season begins,” said Sgt. Gregory Rhodes, Delaware Boating Safety officer. “Whether you are fulfilling Delaware’s mandatory boating safety class requirement, or learning or brushing up on your safe boating skills, we encourage you to sign up today so you’ll be ready to enjoy a safe 2014 boating season on Delaware’s beautiful waterways.”
Delaware’s 8-hour basic boating safety course, which fulfills Delaware’s mandatory boating safety class requirement, is offered in multiple locations statewide in one to four sessions. An online version of the course also is offered. Upon completing the course, boaters receive a boating safety certificate, which they should carry with them while boating as proof of course completion. In-classroom class costs range from $10 to $30.
For more information, including the boating safety class schedule with dates, times and complete cost information, and access to the online Delaware Boating Handbook and other boating information, please click Delaware_Boating_Safety. To contact the Office of Boating Safety and Education during regular business hours, please call 302-739-9915.
The DNREC Division of Fish and Wildlife recognizes and thanks the majority of anglers, hunters and boaters who comply with and support Delaware’s fishing, hunting and boating laws and regulations. Citizens are encouraged to report fish and wildlife and boating violations to the Delaware Fish and Wildlife Enforcement Section by calling 302-739-4580. Wildlife violations may also be reported anonymously to Operation Game Theft by calling 800-292-3030 or online at www.dnrec.delaware.gov/fw/Hunting/Pages/OpGameTheft.aspx.
Vol. 44, No. 30