Skip to Page Content
Delaware.gov Governor | General Assembly | Courts | Elected Officials | State Agencies
  Photo: Featured Delaware Photo
 
 
  Phone Numbers   Mobile   Help   Size   Print   Email

Skip Navigation LinksDNREC : News : DNREC Fish and Wildlife Enforcement Blotter Jan 5 to 11


 
 
DNREC News Header Graphic
Contact: Cpl. John McDerby, Division of Fish & Wildlife Enforcement Natural Resources Police, 302-739-9913 or 302-354-1386, or Joanna Wilson, DNREC Public Affairs, 302-739-9902  

DNREC Fish & Wildlife Enforcement Blotter: Jan. 5-11
Reminder for the week: After-hours entry, off-roading, target shooting in wildlife areas is unlawful

DOVER (Jan. 16, 2015) – To achieve public compliance through education and enforcement actions that help conserve Delaware’s fish and wildlife resources and ensure safe boating and public safety, DNREC Division of Fish & Wildlife Enforcement Natural Resources Police officers between Jan. 5-11 made 716 contacts with anglers, hunters, boaters and the general public, including 73 vessel boardings for boating safety and fishing regulation compliance checks. Agents responded to 25 complaints and issued 18 citations. This week, with an expanded Fish & Wildlife Enforcement presence continuing to be deployed as a deterrent, no citations were issued at the C&D Canal Conservation Area and associated recreational trail.

An incident of particular note was:

·        On Jan. 7, Fish & Wildlife Enforcement officers arrested Brian Daguiar, 51, of Middletown, in connection with a Dec. 20 incident near Middletown. He was charged with two counts of failure to tag antlerless deer, and one count each of felony first degree reckless endangering, striking an occupied dwelling with shot or a slug discharged from a firearm, possession of unlawfully taken game/antlerless deer, and trespassing to hunt white-tailed deer. Daguiar was arraigned and released on $800 unsecured bond, pending trial at a later date.

Citations issued by offense type included the following, with the number of charges in parentheses:

Wildlife Conservation: Failure to tag antlerless deer (2), possession of unlawfully taken game/one antlerless deer and one black duck (2), hunting on a refuge (2), and trespassing to hunt white-tailed deer (1), New Castle County; Hunting migratory waterfowl without required HIP number (1), Kent County; Hunting migratory waterfowl after hours (2), possession/transportation of unlawfully taken antlered deer (1), failure to check antlered deer within 24 hours (1), and failure to tag antlered deer (1), Sussex County.

Boating and Boating Safety: Operating a vessel with insufficient number of life jackets (1), and operating an unregistered motor vessel (1), New Castle County.

Public Safety: Felony first degree reckless endangering (1), and striking an occupied dwelling with shot or a slug discharged from a firearm (1), New Castle County.

Other: Unregistered boat trailer (1), New Castle County.

Fish & Wildlife Enforcement News and Training

·        AFC Chelsea Allen is attending the four-week marine law enforcement training course at the Federal Law Enforcement Training Center in Brunswick, Ga.

Are you AWARE?
DNREC’s Division of Fish & Wildlife Enforcement Section reminds visitors to state wildlife areas, fishing piers and boat launching facilities that these areas are closed to the public from sunset to sunrise unless a person is actively and lawfully engaged in fishing or hunting in accordance with state regulations and individual wildlife area rules. Individuals not meeting these requirements and found in state wildlife areas between sunset and sunrise face fines up to $100 for trespassing after hours.

Wildlife area visitors also are reminded that it is illegal to operate motor vehicles – including motorcycles, cars, trucks and SUVs – off established roadways in state wildlife areas. Violators who cause damage also will be cited for destruction of state property. In addition, operating a motor vehicle that is not licensed for use on established public roadways – including ATVs – is prohibited both on and off-road on state wildlife areas.

“With this winter’s temperature changes, rain and snow, freezing and thawing, the ground is especially vulnerable to severe damage from vehicles operating off-road,” said Cpl. John McDerby of Fish & Wildlife Enforcement. “Doing ‘donuts’ or four-wheeling in wildlife areas is irresponsible and illegal behavior that damages essential wildlife habitat, as well as generating unnecessary work and expense to repair the damage.”

Other noteworthy general wildlife area rules and regulations to remember include:

·        Camping, swimming, target shooting (including paintball), dumping and littering, and fires are prohibited in state wildlife areas.

·        Dog training is permitted only within established dog training areas or during open hunting seasons for the game animals that the dog is being trained to hunt.

·        Hunting is permitted only in specified areas and only during designated hunting seasons.

·        Firearms are prohibited on state wildlife areas from March 1 to Aug. 31, except during legal hunting seasons or as authorized by the Division of Fish & Wildlife.

·        All state wildlife areas are designated carry-in, carry-out for trash.

For more information on individual wildlife areas, including the rules and regulations specific to each wildlife area, wildlife area visitors are encouraged to check out Delaware wildlife area maps. These maps are available in hard copy at DNREC’s Dover licensing desk and online at Delaware Wildlife Area Maps.

Enforcement also reminds the public that late winter is a good time to visit the Division of Fish & Wildlife’s shooting sports ranges to sharpen accuracy and check equipment, particularly for late deer and waterfowl seasons. Ommelanden Hunter Education Training Center and Public Shooting Range is open year round for public use for a small fee from 9 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. Saturday and Sunday, and from 12:30 p.m. to 8 p.m. on Wednesdays. The range includes 25- and 50-meter rifle and pistol ranges, skeet and trap fields and a practice archery field. Dedicated to providing Delaware hunters with required hunter education courses and training opportunities, Ommelanden is located at 1205 River Road, New Castle. For more information, call the Ommelanden office on weekdays at 302-323-5334 or 302-323-5333 on weekends, or visit Ommelanden Range.

Another option is Owens Station Shooting Sports & Hunter Education Center, located at 12613 Hunters Cove Road, Greenwood. Newly dedicated in September by the Division of Fish & Wildlife as downstate Delaware’s first and only state-owned public shooting sports range, Owens Station is operated as a public-private partnership and features a circular 60-station sporting clays course, a trap shooting range and “five-stand” warmup range. For more information, click Owens Station Sporting Clays or call 302-349-4334.

The DNREC Division of Fish & Wildlife recognizes and thanks the majority of anglers, hunters and boaters who comply with and support Delaware’s fishing, hunting and boating laws and regulations. Citizens are encouraged to report fish and wildlife and boating violations to the Delaware Fish & Wildlife Enforcement Section by calling 302-739-4580. Wildlife violations may also be reported anonymously to Operation Game Theft by calling 800-292-3030 or online at www.dnrec.delaware.gov/fw/Hunting/Pages/OpGameTheft.aspx. 

Vol. 45, No. 11
-30-
1/16/2015
Want your news hot off the press? Join the DNREC press release email list by sending a blank email to
join-dnrec_press_releases@lists.state.de.us.
site map   |   about this site   |    contact us   |    translate   |    delaware.gov