Contact: Capt. Douglas Messeck or Sr. Cpl. Carl Winckoski, Division of Fish and Wildlife Enforcement, 302-739-9913, or Joanna Wilson, DNREC Public Affairs, 302-739-9902
DNREC Fish & Wildlife Enforcement Blotter: July 22-28
Reminder for week: Delaware fishing license required for fishing, crabbing, clamming
DOVER (Aug. 1, 2014) – To achieve public compliance through education and enforcement actions that help conserve Delaware’s fish and wildlife resources and ensure safe boating and public safety, DNREC Natural Resources Police, Division of Fish and Wildlife Enforcement Agents between July 22-28 made 1,714 contacts with anglers, boaters and the general public, including 276 vessel boardings for boating safety and fishing regulation compliance checks. Agents responded to 74 complaints and issued 90 citations, only one of which was related to the C&D Canal Conservation Area and associated recreational trail currently under construction, where there is an increased Fish and Wildlife Enforcement presence as a deterrent.
Citations issued by violation type included the following, with the number of charges in parentheses:
Wildlife Conservation: Illegal target shooting on a state wildlife area (1)*, New Castle County.
Fisheries Conservation: Recreational: Fishing without a license/no fishing license in possession (32), and possession of undersized blue crabs (16), New Castle, Kent and Sussex counties; Forgery of fishing license (1), and failure to tend crab pots within required 72-hour period (2), New Castle County; Recreational crab pot tampering/checking crab pots belonging to another (1), improperly marked recreational crab pots (1), possession of sponge crabs (5), over the limit recreational clams (1), possession of undersized sea bass (1), possession of undersized white perch (1), and possession of undersized conch (3), Sussex County.
Boating Safety: Operating a vessel with insufficient number of life jackets (8), operating a motor vessel with an expired registration/operating an unregistered vessel (5), New Castle and Sussex counties; Allowing use of a non-compliant vessel (1), unregistered boat trailer (1), and trailer title violation (1), New Castle County; No life jacket on a child age 12 or younger as required by law (5), Kent and Sussex counties; No boating safety certificate (1), and no sound-producing device/required safety equipment (1), Sussex County.
Public Safety: Public intoxication (1), New Castle County; Taking shellfish in a prohibited area (1), Kent County.
* This citation was issued in connection with violations at the C&D Canal Conservation Area.
Are you AWARE?
With 32 citations issued for fishing without a license/no fishing license in possession this week, the Division of Fish and Wildlife Enforcement Section would like to remind recreational anglers who fish, crab or clam in Delaware’s tidal or non-tidal waters statewide that they must have a valid 2014 Delaware fishing license – and they are required to carry their fishing license while fishing.
A resident annual fishing license costs $8.50 for ages 16 through 64. Higher license prices apply to non-resident anglers. Anglers under the age of 16 and residents age 65 and older are not required to purchase fishing licenses in Delaware. Exempt persons may purchase fishing licenses if they so choose to help support fisheries management in Delaware.
“Fishing license sales in Delaware directly benefit anglers by supporting the state’s fisheries programs and providing funding to construct and maintain public fishing piers and boat ramps,” said Sr. Cpl. Carl Winckoski of Fish and Wildlife Enforcement. “Unfortunately, some anglers do not observe state fishing license requirements – and if they are caught fishing without a license, they discover that buying a resident license for $8.50 to be much cheaper than $106, which is the minimum fine with court costs they face.”
Both resident and non-resident anglers age 16 and older also are required to obtain a Delaware Fisherman Information Network (FIN) number. The free number is included as part of a Delaware fishing license purchase. License-exempt anglers, including Delaware residents 65 and older, may visit www.delaware-fin.com or call 800-432-9228 toll-free to obtain their free FIN number.
Delaware fishing licenses are sold online, at the licensing office in DNREC’s Richardson & Robbins Building, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, and by license agents statewide. To find the participating agent nearest you, or to purchase a license online, visit Delaware Licenses. For additional information on Delaware fishing licenses, call 302-739-9918.
For more information on fishing in Delaware, click on 2014 Delaware Fishing Guide. The guide also is available in printed form at DNREC’s Dover licensing desk, and from license agents throughout the state.
The DNREC Division of Fish and Wildlife recognizes and thanks the majority of anglers, hunters and boaters who comply with and support Delaware’s fishing, hunting and boating laws and regulations. Citizens are encouraged to report fish and wildlife and boating violations to the Delaware Fish and Wildlife Enforcement Section by calling 302-739-4580. Wildlife violations may also be reported anonymously to Operation Game Theft by calling 800-292-3030 or online at www.dnrec.delaware.gov/fw/Hunting/Pages/OpGameTheft.aspx. Vol. 44, No. 265