Contact: Sr. Cpl. Carl Winckoski, Division of Fish and Wildlife Enforcement, 302-739-9913 or 302-542-2115, or Joanna Wilson, DNREC Public Affairs, 302-739-9902
DNREC Fish & Wildlife Enforcement Blotter: July 8-14
Reminder for the week: A fishing license is required
for most anglers to fish, crab and clam in Delaware
DOVER (July 18, 2014) – To achieve public compliance through education and enforcement actions that help conserve Delaware’s fish and wildlife resources and ensure safe boating and public safety, DNREC Natural Resources Police, Division of Fish and Wildlife Enforcement Agents between July 8-14 made 1,498 contacts with anglers, boaters and the general public, including 320 vessel boardings for boating safety and fishing regulation compliance checks. Agents responded to 66 complaints and issued 60 citations, four of which were related to increased Fish and Wildlife Enforcement presence at the C&D Canal Conservation Area and associated recreational trail currently under construction.
An incident of particular note was:
· On July 12, following an investigation, Fish and Wildlife agents cited Dennis M. Diehl, 65, of Rehoboth Beach, and Thomas J. Williams, 55, of Lewes, for one count each of selling blue crabs without a commercial license and possession of undersized blue crabs near Rehoboth Beach. Diehl and Williams were given the option of paying a $164 fine each or requesting a court date.
Citations issued by violation type included the following, with the number of charges in parentheses:
Wildlife Conservation: Operating a motor vehicle off an established roadway on a state wildlife area (1)*, and damaging state-owned property (1)*, New Castle County.
Fisheries Conservation: Recreational: Fishing without a license (16), and possession of undersized blue crabs (14), New Castle, Kent and Sussex counties; Trespassing to fish on private property (1), and illegal use of a cast net in tidal water within 300 feet of a dam or spillway (1), New Castle County; possession of undersized summer flounder (2), Kent and Sussex counties; Recreational crab pot tampering/checking crab pots belonging to another (1), improperly marked crab pots (1), possession of untagged bags of hard clams (1), possession of undersized striped bass (1), and possession of undersized white perch (1), Sussex County.
Commercial: No commercial crabbing license (2), and possession of undersized blue crabs (2), Sussex County.
Boating Safety: Negligent operation of a vessel (1), New Castle County; Operating a vessel with insufficient number of life jackets (3), no life jacket on a child age 12 or younger as required by law (2), no boating safety certificate (2), allowing use of a non-compliant vessel (3), no fire extinguisher/required safety equipment (1), and no tidal boat ramp certificate (1), Sussex County.
Public Safety: Driving with a suspended license (1)*, and no proof of vehicle insurance (1)*, New Castle County.
* These citations were issued in connection with violations at the C&D Canal Conservation Area.
Fish and Wildlife Enforcement News and Training
· On July 10, Sr. Cpl. Richard Blaasch, Cpl. John McDerby, Agent Brandon Bruce and Seasonal Agent Brooke Africa took 21 day campers and six counselors from Brandywine Creek and White Clay Creek state parks on an educational boat tour of C&D Canal and of the Delaware River near Artificial Island, Augustine Beach and Pea Patch Island. The campers viewed several bald eagles, great blue herons and vultures. Agents also demonstrated the workings of a crab pot.
· Recruit Adam Roark graduated from the Delaware State Police Academy on July 11 after completing the required 23 weeks of instruction and was sworn in as a new agent with DNREC Natural Resources Police, Division of Fish and Wildlife Enforcement. He is assigned to Sussex County.
Are you AWARE?
With 16 citations issued for fishing without a license this week, the Fish and Wildlife Enforcement Section reminds recreational anglers who fish, crab or clam in tidal or non-tidal waters statewide that they must have a valid 2014 Delaware fishing license.
A resident annual fishing license, which covers fresh and tidal waters as well as crabbing and clamming, costs $8.50 for ages 16 through 64. Persons under the age of 16 and residents age 65 and older are not required to purchase fishing licenses in Delaware, although exempt persons may purchase fishing licenses and trout stamps if they so choose to help support fisheries management and trout stocking efforts. For non-resident anglers age 16 and older, a Delaware fishing license costs $20.
“Fishing license sales in Delaware directly benefit anglers by supporting the state’s fisheries programs and providing funding to construct and maintain public fishing piers and boat ramps,” said Sr. Cpl. Carl Winckoski of Fish and Wildlife Enforcement. “Unfortunately, some anglers do not observe state fishing license requirements – and if they are caught fishing without a license, they discover that buying a resident license for $8.50 to be much cheaper than $106, which is the minimum fine plus court costs they face.”
Both resident and non-resident recreational anglers age 16 and older are required to obtain a Delaware Fisherman Information Network (F.I.N.) number. The free number is included as part of a Delaware fishing license purchase. License-exempt anglers, including Delaware residents 65 and older, may visit www.delaware-fin.com or call 800-432-9228 toll-free to obtain their free F.I.N. number.
Delaware fishing licenses are sold online, at the licensing office in DNREC’s Richardson & Robbins Building, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, and by license agents statewide. To find the participating agent nearest you, or to purchase a license online, visit Delaware Licenses. For additional information on Delaware fishing licenses, call 302-739-9918.
For more information on fishing in Delaware, click on 2014 Delaware Fishing Guide. The guide also is available in printed form at DNREC’s Dover licensing desk, and from license agents throughout the state.
The DNREC Division of Fish and Wildlife recognizes and thanks the majority of anglers, hunters and boaters who comply with and support Delaware’s fishing, hunting and boating laws and regulations. Citizens are encouraged to report fish and wildlife and boating violations to the Delaware Fish and Wildlife Enforcement Section by calling 302-739-4580. Wildlife violations may also be reported anonymously to Operation Game Theft by calling 800-292-3030 or online at www.dnrec.delaware.gov/fw/Hunting/Pages/OpGameTheft.aspx.
Vol. 44, No. 246