Skip to Page Content
Delaware.gov Governor | General Assembly | Courts | Elected Officials | State Agencies
  Photo: Featured Delaware Photo
 
 
  Phone Numbers   Mobile   Help   Size   Print   Email

Skip Navigation LinksDNREC : News : DNREC Fish and Wildlife Enforcement Blotter Sept 16 to 22


 
 
DNREC News Header Graphic
Contact: Cpl. John McDerby, Division of Fish and Wildlife Enforcement Natural Resources Police, 302-739-9913 or 302-354-1386, or Joanna Wilson, DNREC Public Affairs, 302-739-9902  

DNREC Fish & Wildlife Enforcement Blotter: Sept. 16-22
Reminder for week: Hunters should observe surroundings, take safety precautions 

DOVER (Sept. 26, 2014) – To achieve public compliance through education and enforcement actions that help conserve Delaware’s fish and wildlife resources and ensure safe boating and public safety, DNREC Division of Fish and Wildlife Enforcement Natural Resources Police officers between Sept. 16-22 made 1,214 contacts with anglers, hunters, boaters and the general public, including 156 vessel boardings for boating safety and fishing regulation compliance checks. Agents responded to 49 complaints and issued 86 citations, 14 of which of which were related to increased Fish and Wildlife Enforcement presence at the C&D Canal Conservation Area and associated recreational trail currently under construction.

Incidents of particular note were:

·        On Sept. 20, Fish and Wildlife Enforcement officers cited five anglers for a total of 38 counts of fishing violations which occurred at the Lang Marsh in Port Penn. Abdul Mannan, 70, of Wilmington, and Tazul Islam, 50, Mohammed Hossain, 37, Mohammed Islam, 53, and Mizanur Rahman, 43, all from the Bronx, N.Y., were cited for one count each of possession of undersize weakfish, one count each of possession of over-the-limit of weakfish, and five counts each of possession of undersize white perch. Abdul Mannan, Tazul Islam, and Mohammed Hossain were also cited for one count each of fishing without a license. The fines assessed for Mannan, Tazul Islam and Hossain totaled $681 each. Mohammed Islam’s and Rahman’s fines totaled $574 each.

·        On Sept. 18, Fish and Wildlife Enforcement officers cited a Newark man for one count each of possession of unlawfully taken game, possession of illegal lead shot and hunting on a wildlife area on a closed day at Prime Hook’s state area. He was fined a total of $321.

Citations issued by offense type included the following, with the number of charges in parentheses:

Wildlife Conservation: Operating a motor vehicle off established roadways in a state wildlife area (2)*, damaging state wildlife area property (2)*, and illegally operating an ATV on a state wildlife area (5)*, New Castle County; Possession of unlawfully taken game/waterfowl (2), New Castle and Sussex counties; Illegal target shooting on a state wildlife area (10), Kent County; Trespassing after hours on a state wildlife area (1), hunting on a state wildlife area on a closed day (1), and possession of illegal lead shot (1), Sussex County.

Fisheries Conservation: Recreational: Possession of over-the-limit weakfish (5), New Castle County; Fishing/crabbing without a license (13), New Castle, Kent and Sussex counties; Possession of undersized white perch (27), New Castle and Sussex counties; Possession of undersized weakfish (6), New Castle and Kent counties; Possession of undersized blue crab (1), Sussex County.

Boating and Boating Safety: No life jacket on a child age 12 or younger as required by law (1), no boating safety certificate (1), and no tidal boat ramp certificate (2), Sussex County.

Public Safety: Possession of drug paraphernalia (1)*, driving a motor vehicle at excessive speed/more than 20 mph on a state wildlife area (1)*, driving an unregistered vehicle (1)*, driving a motor vehicle with a suspended/revoked license (2), and failure to stop at a red light (1), New Castle County.

* These citations were issued in connection with violations at the C&D Canal Conservation Area. In addition, the following citations which are not marked with an asterisk also were issued in connection with the C&D Canal Conservation Area: fishing without a license (1), and driving a motor vehicle with a suspended/revoked license (1).

Fish and Wildlife Enforcement News and Training

·        On Sept. 20, Cpl. Brian Pollock and Agent Chelsea Allen staffed the Enforcement Section’s Operation Game Theft trailer at Cabela’s in Christiana to conduct outreach in conjunction with a class the store was holding on the process of obtaining a permit to carry a concealed weapon in Delaware.

Are you AWARE?
With fall hunting seasons underway, the DNREC Division of Fish and Wildlife Enforcement Section advises hunters to become familiar with state, county and local regulations before choosing their hunting spots, and reminds them to always be observant of their surroundings and to take appropriate safety precautions.

“Hunters should always consider their surroundings and how far the shot (pellets) they are using can travel,” said Cpl. John McDerby of Fish and Wildlife Enforcement, noting that it is illegal in Delaware for anyone other than the owner or occupant, or a person with specific, advance permission from the owner or occupant, to discharge a firearm so that a shotgun pellet or slug or a bullet lands upon any occupied dwelling, house or residence, or any related barn, stable or other outbuilding.

In addition, anyone except the owner or occupant or a person with specific permission of the owner or occupant is prohibited from discharging a firearm within 100 yards of an occupied dwelling, house or residence, or any related barn, stable or other outbuilding, while hunting or trapping wild birds or animals of any kind. The statewide safety zone for in-season archery deer hunting is 50 yards. Within this safety zone, it is illegal for anyone other than the owner or occupant to hunt, trap, pursue, disturb or otherwise chase any wild animal or bird without advance permission of the owner or occupant.

Discharging a firearm while on or within 15 yards of a public road or right-of-way is also illegal in Delaware, unless it is an area controlled by DNREC, the Department of Agriculture or the U.S. Department of the Interior and designated as an area open to hunting or trapping. Shooting at a wild bird or wild animal in a public roadway or firing across a public roadway is also prohibited.

Upstate hunters should also note that New Castle County has its own ordinances, including a 200-yard firearm safety zone from homes, structures and camps north of I-295 and I-95 in which firearms may not be discharged, and a 100-yard firearm safety zone south of I-295 and I-95. A 50-yard safety zone for in-season archery deer hunting is in effect for all of New Castle County. For more information, please check New Castle County ordinances.

For more information on hunting safety, click Hunter Education.

For more information on hunting in Delaware, click on 2014-2015 Delaware Hunting and Trapping Guide. The guide also is available in printed form at DNREC’s Dover licensing desk in the Richardson & Robbins Building, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, and from license agents throughout the state.

The DNREC Division of Fish and Wildlife recognizes and thanks the majority of anglers, hunters and boaters who comply with and support Delaware’s fishing, hunting and boating laws and regulations. Citizens are encouraged to report fish and wildlife and boating violations to the Delaware Fish and Wildlife Enforcement Section by calling 302-739-4580. Wildlife violations may also be reported anonymously to Operation Game Theft by calling 800-292-3030 or online at www.dnrec.delaware.gov/fw/Hunting/Pages/OpGameTheft.aspx.

Vol. 44, No. 329
-30-
9/26/2014
Want your news hot off the press? Join the DNREC press release email list by sending a blank email to
join-dnrec_press_releases@lists.state.de.us.
site map   |   about this site   |    contact us   |    translate   |    delaware.gov