Skip to Page Content
Delaware.gov Governor | General Assembly | Courts | Elected Officials | State Agencies
  Photo: Featured Delaware Photo
 
 
  Phone Numbers   Mobile   Help   Size   Print   Email

Skip Navigation LinksDNREC : News : DNREC Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police Blotter: Nov. 23-29


 
 
DNREC News Header Graphic

Contact: Sgt. John McDerby, DNREC Division of Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police, 302-739-9913 or 302-354-1386, or Joanna Wilson, DNREC Public Affairs, 302-739-9902 

Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police Blotter: Nov. 23-29
Reminder for the week: Boaters need proper gear, safety equipment for cooler fall weather

DOVER (Dec. 4, 2015) – To achieve public compliance through education and enforcement actions that help conserve Delaware’s fish and wildlife resources and ensure safe boating and public safety, DNREC Division of Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police officers between Nov. 23-29 made 960 contacts with anglers, boaters, hunters and the general public, including 103 vessel boardings for boating safety and fishing regulation compliance checks. Officers responded to 40 complaints and issued 19 citations. This week, with an expanded Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police presence continuing to be deployed as a deterrent, no citations were issued at the C&D Canal Conservation Area and associated recreational trail.

Items of particular note: 

·         On Nov. 24, Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police arrested Michael D. Schrader, 37, of Smyrna, and charged him with possession of a firearm by a person prohibited, two counts of possession of unlawfully taken antlered deer and two counts of unlawfully taken antlerless deer in the Blackbird Reserve near Townsend. Schrader was video-arraigned by Justice of the Peace Court 2 in Rehoboth Beach and released on $3,200 unsecured bond, pending trial at a later date in the New Castle County Court of Common Pleas.

·         On Nov. 26, Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police cited three Wilmington residents in connection with an incident near Newport. Robert M. Basara, 46, and Floyd G. Arms, 28, were both charged with one count each of possession of a firearm while under the influence of alcohol, possession of unlawfully taken waterfowl and hunting on a refuge. Basara and Arms were issued mandatory appearances in Justice of the Peace Court 11 in New Castle and released. Christie L. McFarland, 28, was charged with one count each of unlicensed hunting and hunting on a refuge. She was issued a fine of $330, including court costs, and released.

Citations issued this week by offense category included the following, with the number of charges in parentheses:

Wildlife Conservation: Hunting without a license (2), trespassing after hours on a state wildlife area (2), hunting on a refuge (3), hunting with an unplugged shotgun capable of holding more than three shells (1), possession of unlawfully taken antlered deer (2), possession of unlawfully taken antlerless deer (2), possession of unlawfully taken waterfowl (2), and hunting migratory waterfowl without required federal duck stamp (1).

Fisheries Conservation: Possession of undersized tautog (1).

Public Safety: Possession of a firearm by a person prohibited (1), and possession of a firearm while under the influence of alcohol (2).

Are you AWARE?
DNREC’s Division of Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police remind the boating public that with fall weather comes cooler air and water temperatures, putting those who hunt, fish or cruise our waterways at risk from hypothermia if they fall overboard.

 “Boating in colder weather provides some great fishing, hunting and recreational opportunities, but to stay safe in the event of a mishap, it’s all about choosing and using the right gear,” said Sgt. John McDerby, Division of Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police. “Keep in mind that falling overboard or getting excessively chilled or wet on deck can put you at risk for hypothermia, so dress and outfit yourself appropriately.”

Immersion in cool water can lead very quickly to hypothermia, in which the body instinctively protects its core by shutting down blood flow to limbs first. The U.S. Coast Guard recommends wearing layers for protection and warmth, including gloves and a hat. Recommended gear also includes three types of protective clothing to reduce risk: flotation coats, which double as life jackets but may not protect against hypothermia if the wearer falls into cold water; immersion or survival suits, which can increase survival time in cold water; or a dry suit, worn for intentional entry into cold water to keep water out and, with thermal layers beneath, keep warmth in. 

Other recommended safety items include:

·         Life jackets, worn by everyone on board, especially non-swimmers in all seasons; Delaware law requires that all children 12 years old and younger aboard a vessel wear a lifejacket while underway;

·         Blankets, to stay warm on board while awaiting rescue;

·         Multiple means of communication – a fully-charged cell phone and a marine radio;

·         A vessel-mounted or handheld GPS to relay your exact location to assist first responders;

·         Items to attract the attention of rescuers: a whistle, a personal position locator beacon (PLB), a personal emergency locator light and/or flares, all kept in immersion suit pockets, secured with a lanyard. 

Boat operators should also plan to spend a little extra time on vessel preparations and maintenance to help prevent breakdowns on the water, including checking fuel levels before heading out. “An equipment failure that would be a minor inconvenience in warmer weather could be life-threatening this time of year,” Sgt. McDerby said. 

He also added these tips:

·         Check your vessel’s capacity plate for maximum weight to avoid overloading, which can lead to possible capsizing; hunting parties are reminded to take the weight of their gear into account.

·         Keep your cell phone in a secure pocket and sealed in a plastic bag.

·         Pack a set of dry clothing in a sealed plastic bag.

·         If you fall overboard or capsize, stay with your boat for a better chance of being found sooner.

·         Keep clothing on to help retain heat.

·         File a “float plan” with a responsible friend or family member. Include a description of your boat, when you plan to head out, who is going with you, where you plan to go and when you plan to return.  

“Filing a float plan is always a good idea, because unforeseen circumstances can hit boaters in any season at any time, including a storm, engine problems, swamping, and injuries or other health issues,” Sgt. McDerby said. “With your plans in a friend or family member’s hands, they can call for help if you’re overdue and tell searchers where to begin looking for you, saving precious time.”

For more information on safe boating practices in Delaware, including an easy-to-use float plan form, please visit Delaware Boating_Safety on the Division of Fish & Wildlife website.

DNREC’s Division of Fish & Wildlife recognizes and thanks the majority of anglers, hunters and boaters who comply with and support Delaware’s fishing, hunting and boating laws and regulations. Citizens are encouraged to report fish, wildlife and boating violations to the Delaware Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police by calling 302-739-4580. Wildlife violations may also be reported anonymously to Operation Game Theft by calling 800-292-3030 or online at http://de.gov/ogt.

 Follow Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police on Facebook, www.facebook.com/pages/Delaware-Fish-Wildlife-Natural-Resources-Police.

Vol. 45, No. 417

-30-
12/4/2015
Want your news hot off the press? Join the DNREC press release email list by sending a blank email to
join-dnrec_press_releases@lists.state.de.us.
site map   |   about this site   |    contact us   |    translate   |    delaware.gov