Contact: Sgt. John McDerby, Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police, 302-739-9913 or 302-354-1386, or Joanna Wilson, DNREC Public Affairs, 302-739-9902
Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police Blotter: Dec. 14-20
Reminder for the week: Boat owners reminded to renew boat registrations for the New Year
DOVER (Dec. 23, 2015) – To achieve public compliance through education and enforcement actions that help conserve Delaware’s fish and wildlife resources and ensure safe boating and public safety, DNREC Division of Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police officers between Dec. 14-20 made 988 contacts with anglers, boaters, hunters and the general public, including 64 vessel boardings for boating safety and fishing regulation compliance checks. Officers responded to 37 complaints and issued 21 citations. This week, with an expanded Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police presence continuing to be deployed as a deterrent, no citations were issued at the C&D Canal Conservation Area and associated recreational trail.
Items of particular note:
· On Dec. 19, Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police arrested Deandre Winder, 18, of Ellendale, and charged him with felony disregarding command of a police officer, resisting arrest, illegal operation of an off-road vehicle and operating an off-road vehicle without a helmet in Redden State Forest. Winder was video-arraigned by Justice of the Peace Court 3 in Georgetown and released on $1,002 unsecured bond pending a preliminary hearing in the Sussex County Court of Common Pleas.
· On Dec. 19, Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police responded by vessel to assist a hunter stuck up to her waist in tidal marsh mud near Gordons Pond. The officers worked to extricate her, using a rope to pull her from the mud, and helped her aboard the Lewes Fire Department boat assisting with the rescue. The hunter was uninjured, and after being checked and warmed up, declined further treatment.
Citations issued this week by offense category included the following, with the number of charges in parentheses:
Wildlife Conservation: Unlicensed hunting (1), trespassing after hours on a state wildlife area (2), hunting with an unplugged shotgun capable of holding more than three shells (1), hunting deer with a firearm in a closed area/Redden State Forest (1), hunting migratory waterfowl without required state waterfowl stamp (1), hunting migratory waterfowl without required federal waterfowl stamp (1), hunting migratory waterfowl without required HIP number (1), possession of prohibited lead shot while hunting migratory waterfowl (1), and hunting migratory waterfowl from a vessel within 1,500 feet of an established blind (3).
Fisheries Conservation: Unlicensed fishing (1).
Boating and Boating Safety: No boating safety certificate (1).
Public Safety: Resisting arrest (1), felony disregarding command of a police officer (1), carrying a loaded firearm in a motor vessel (2), illegal operation of off-road vehicle (1), operating an off-road vehicle without a helmet (1), and failure to display required hunter orange during a firearms deer season (1).
Are you AWARE?
DNREC’s Division of Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police remind boaters that their Delaware boat registrations expire Dec. 31 and must be renewed before taking their boats out on the water in 2016.
State law requires that all motor-powered vessels that are principally used in Delaware or used, docked or stowed on Delaware waters for more than 60 consecutive days must be registered in Delaware. Registration numbers provide identification for recovering lost or stolen vessels or identifying vessels violating the law, and helps locate persons involved in boating accidents.
Current annual boat registration fees range from $10 to $60 a year, based on the size of the vessel. Registration fees are used to help fund boating safety patrols, natural resources protection, boating education programs and boating access areas and their maintenance.
“Under Delaware’s boating laws, the operator of a vessel – not necessarily the owner – is responsible for ensuring the vessel is registered, carries all required safety equipment and is operated in a safe manner,” said Sgt. John McDerby, Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police boating safety coordinator.
Delaware’s online boat registration system was recently modernized with the installation of a new online system that improves electronic management of registration records to ensure better accuracy and consistency. Boat owners can register their vessels or renew their registrations online, through DNREC’s boat registration office at 89 Kings Highway in Dover or through private agents throughout the state. For more information, click Delaware Boat Registration, or contact the boat registration office at 302-739-9916.
DNREC’s Division of Fish & Wildlife recognizes and thanks the majority of anglers, hunters and boaters who comply with and support Delaware’s fishing, hunting and boating laws and regulations. Citizens are encouraged to report fish, wildlife and boating violations to the Delaware Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police by calling 302-739-4580. Wildlife violations may also be reported anonymously to Operation Game Theft by calling 800-292-3030 or online at http://de.gov/ogt.
Follow Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police on Facebook, www.facebook.com/pages/Delaware-Fish-Wildlife-Natural-Resources-Police.Vol. 45, No. 435