Contact: Sgt. John McDerby, Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police, 302-739-9913 or 302-354-1386, or Joanna Wilson, DNREC Public Affairs, 302-739-9902
Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police Blotter: Jan. 25-31
Reminder for the week: Time to purchase your 2016 Delaware fishing license
DOVER (Feb. 5, 2016) – To achieve public compliance through education and enforcement actions that help conserve Delaware’s fish and wildlife resources and ensure safe boating and public safety, DNREC Division of Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police officers between Jan. 25-31 made 1,052 contacts with anglers, boaters, hunters and the general public, including 62 vessel boardings for boating safety and fishing regulation compliance checks. Officers responded to 42 complaints and issued 20 citations, three of which were related to the C&D Canal Conservation Area and associated recreational trail, where there is an increased Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police presence.
Items of particular note:
· On Jan. 31, Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police arrested Aaron R. Proden, 44, of Millsboro, and charged him with one count each of operating a vessel under the influence of alcohol (OUI) and operating an unregistered vessel at the Lewes Boat Ramp. Proden was taken to Delaware State Police Troop 7 in Lewes for an intoxilyzer test and released pending a mandatory court appearance at a later date.
· On Jan. 30, Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police cited Scott D. Melson, 47, of Smyrna, for one count of hunting migratory waterfowl with prohibited lead shot near Smyrna; on Jan. 26, Melson was cited for one count of hunting deer with a shotgun during muzzleloader season in the same area. Melson was fined $107, including court costs, for the waterfowl charge, and $165, including court costs, for the deer charge.
Citations issued this week by offense category included the following, with the number of charges in parentheses:
Wildlife Conservation: Trespassing after hours on a state wildlife area (5)*, operating a motor vehicle off an established roadway on a state wildlife area (2)*, hunting deer with a shotgun during muzzleloader season (1), hunting off of an established blind site on a state wildlife area (3), and three federal violations: hunting migratory waterfowl with prohibited lead shot (1), hunting migratory waterfowl without required HIP number (1), and possession of harlequin duck out of season (1).
Public Safety: Carrying a loaded firearm in a motor vehicle (1).
Boating and Boating Safety: Operating a vessel under the influence of alcohol (1), operating an unregistered vessel (2), operating a vessel with insufficient number of life jackets (1), and no boating safety certificate (1).
* Two citations for trespassing after hours on a state wildlife area and one citation for operating a motor vehicle off an established roadway on a state wildlife area were issued at the C&D Canal Conservation Area.
Are you AWARE?
DNREC’s Division of Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police remind anglers that it’s time to purchase their 2016 Delaware fishing licenses, as their 2015 licenses expired on Dec. 31. A valid fishing license is required for fishing, crabbing and clamming in Delaware in both tidal and non-tidal waters.
A resident annual fishing license costs $8.50 for ages 16 through 64. Anglers under the age of 16 and residents age 65 and older are not required to purchase fishing licenses in Delaware. Some requirements differ for non-resident anglers. Exempt persons may purchase fishing licenses if they so choose to help support fisheries management in Delaware.
Recreational anglers 16 years and older fishing Delaware waters also are required to obtain a Delaware Fisherman Information Network (F.I.N.) number; this number is generated automatically on all individual fishing licenses sold through Delaware’s electronic licensing system. License-exempt anglers, including Delaware residents 65 and older; non-resident boat fishing license holders who do not have an individual license; and individuals fishing on licensed boats who do not have an individual license, must obtain their free F.I.N. number by visiting www.delaware-fin.com or calling 800-432-9228 toll-free.
Delaware fishing licenses are sold online, at the licensing desk in DNREC’s Richardson & Robbins Building, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, and by license agents statewide. To find a participating agent, or to purchase a license online, visit Delaware Licenses. For additional information on Delaware fishing licenses, call 302-739-9918.
For more information on fishing in Delaware, click on 2016 Delaware Fishing Guide. The guide also is available in printed form at DNREC’s Dover licensing desk and from license agents throughout the state.
DNREC’s Division of Fish & Wildlife recognizes and thanks the majority of anglers, hunters and boaters who comply with and support Delaware’s fishing, hunting and boating laws and regulations. Citizens are encouraged to report fish, wildlife and boating violations to the Delaware Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police by calling 302-739-4580. Wildlife violations may also be reported anonymously to Operation Game Theft by calling 800-292-3030 or online at http://de.gov/ogt.
Follow Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police on Facebook, www.facebook.com/pages/Delaware-Fish-Wildlife-Natural-Resources-Police.
Vol. 46, No. 33