Skip to Page Content Governor | General Assembly | Courts | Elected Officials | State Agencies
  Photo: Featured Delaware Photo
  Phone Numbers   Mobile   Help   Size   Print   Email

Skip Navigation LinksDNREC : Division of Waste & Hazardous Substances : Info

Delaware’s Annual Ambient Air Monitoring Network Plan


On September 27, 2006, the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) amended its national air quality monitoring requirements—with changes that help the EPA, states, tribes and local air quality agencies improve public health protection and better inform the public about air quality in their communities. The requirements are outlined in 40CFR § 58.10. The regulation requires Delaware to adopt and to submit to the EPA an annual monitoring network plan which provides for establishing and maintaining an air quality surveillance system.

Beginning May 21, 2013 and continuing through June 21, 2013, the Delaware Ambient Air Monitoring Network Description plan is open for public review and inspection. Comments about the plan should be sent to Ron Amirikian, Planning Branch Manager.  This plan and any comments received will be submitted to the EPA on or about July 1, 2013.

Air quality monitoring station at MLK BlvdContact Information for Comments on Ambient Air Monitoring Network

For more information, please contact:

Ron Amirikian, Air Quality Planning Branch
Division of Air Quality
655 S. Bay Road, Suite 5N
Dover, DE 19901
Phone: (302) 739-9402  Fax: (302) 739-3106

Background  Information

In 1970, Congress passed the Clean Air Act that authorized the EPA to establish National Ambient Air Quality Standards (NAAQS) for pollutants shown to threaten human health and welfare. Primary standards were set according to criteria designed to protect public health, including an adequate margin of safety to protect sensitive populations such as children and asthmatics. Secondary standards were set according to criteria designed to protect public welfare (decreased visibility, damage to crops, vegetation, and buildings, etc.).

Seven pollutants currently have these NAAQS: ozone (O3), carbon monoxide (CO), sulfur dioxide  (SO2), nitrogen dioxide (NO2), particulate matter less than 10 microns (PM10), particulate matter less than 2.5 microns (PM2.5) and lead (Pb). These are commonly called the “criteria” pollutants. When air quality does not meet the NAAQS, the area is said to be in “non-attainment” with the NAAQS.  For more information on the EPA’s NAAQS, please visit:


Last edited: 05/21/13

site map   |   about this site   |    contact us   |    translate   |