
Organic Waste Laws 
 

City/State Scope 
Connecticut Commercial food wholesaler or distributor, 

industrial food manufacturer or processor, 
supermarket, resort or conference center that 
generates an annual volume of 104 or more tons 
per year of organics and are located within 20 
miles of a permitted facility.  Annual tonnage 
decreased to 52 tpy in 2020 
 

Massachusetts Any facility that disposes of more than 1 ton per 
week of food and/or vegetative material per 
location, excluding material from a residence.  
Went into effect October 1, 2014. 
 

New York City Any facility generating more than one ton of food 
waste per week much be sent to a composting 
facility or to an anaerobic digester for conversion 
to energy.  Went into effect July 1, 2015. 
 

Vermont The Act required generators of more than 104 
tons/year of food scraps to divert them from 
landfills beginning July 1, 2014 - if an appropriate 
organics recycling facility exists within 20 miles.  By 
July 1st of 2015, 2016, and 2017, the size of 
generation affected will be reduced to 52, 26, and 
18 tons per year, respectively.  By 2020, all food 
scraps must be diverted. 
 

Vancouver As of January 1, 2015 it became illegal to toss food 
scraps into the regular garbage, regardless of 
whether you live in a single-family home, an 
apartment complex, or run a business. 
 

Rhode Island Law becomes effective for 104 ton/year (2 
tons/week) generators on January 1, 2016.  It 
requires that "each covered entity and each 
covered educational institution shall ensure that 
the organic waste materials that are generated by 
the covered entity or at the covered educational 
facility are recycled at an authorized, composting 
facility, or anaerobic digestion facility or by 
another authorized recycling method," so long as 
the recycling option is located within 15 miles.  In 
the original bill, generators of smaller amounts of 
organic waste materials were going to be subject 

http://www.metrovancouver.org/media-room/media-releases/solid-waste/383/food-waste-to-be-separated-from-garbage-in-2015
http://www.metrovancouver.org/media-room/media-releases/solid-waste/383/food-waste-to-be-separated-from-garbage-in-2015


to this landfill ban in subsequent years, but this 
stipulation was taken out of the final 
version.  Rhode Island also added a unique clause 
that allows generators to apply for a waiver "if the 
tipping fee charged by the Rhode Island resource 
recovery corporation for non-contract commercial 
sector waste is less than the fee charged by each 
composting facility or anaerobic digestion facility."  
  

Seattle Seattle began enforcing this month a new law, 
which aims to curb the amount of food sent to 
landfills. As of January 1, residents of the 
city, including all commercial establishments, must 
have a composting service haul away their food 
waste, drive the waste to a processing site, or 
compost it themselves at home or on-site. The law 
applies not only to food but also any cardboard or 
paper with food on it.  January 2015 

 

http://www.seattle.gov/util/MyServices/FoodYard/HouseResidents/FoodWasteRequirements/FAQs/index.htm

