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Heavy Duty Alternative Fueled Vehicle Rebate Program: 

Definitions and Detailed Process 

Definitions  

 
Primary Point of Contact (PPC): The primary point of contact (PPC) is responsible for working with 
the Motor Carrier in completing and submitting application and reimbursement packages to the Division 
of Energy and Climate. PPCs include: dealerships, manufacturers of vehicles, and truck equipment 
manufacturers (TEMs) that sell or manufacture new medium and/or heavy duty compressed natural gas 
(CNG) trucks.  
 
Motor Carrier (Fleet): An Individual, business, non-profit, or a governmental entity based in the State 
of Delaware or that has an in-state based affiliate.  
 
Lease Vehicle: A vehicle obtained from a leasing agency either inside or outside the state that leases 
a qualifying vehicle to an entity based in the State of Delaware.  
 
Truck Equipment Manufacturer (TEM): A company that installs equipment on a truck chassis. The 
TEM bears full responsibility for any vehicle defects under federal law and is responsible for certifying 
that the vehicle meets all applicable federal safety standards.  
 
Line Setting Ticket: The factory build or construction sheet created when the vehicle order is sent to 
the vehicle manufacturer. The Line Setting Ticket typically includes the new vehicle’s identification 
number (VIN), all the codes for standard equipment, and options the salesman used to create this 
vehicle for the Motor Carrier. After the factory assembles the vehicle and the vehicle is shipped and 
sold, the Line Setting Ticket identifies such things as the gross vehicle weight rating, engine type, 
transmission type, drive line, paint codes, gear ratio, and standard and optional equipment specific to 
that vehicle.  

 

Application Period 
 

Applications will be accepted between July 16th, 2015 and December 31st, 2016 or until funding is 
exhausted. Incomplete applications must be corrected and returned to the Division of Energy and 
Climate.  

 

Note: Rebate awardees must continue to operate the applied for vehicle in the State of Delaware for a 
period of no less than 3 years and submit quarterly vehicle mileage to the Division of Energy and 
Climate for a period of 3 years. 

 

Process 
 

1. The PPC fills out and submits an application to the Delaware Division of Energy and Climate 
(DEC). This application can be found here.   
 

 The DEC recommends that the PPC fills out the application using the fillable PDF on the 
computer to ensure that all of the fields are filled out and legible.  
 

2. The PPC emails the application (preferred) to  DNREC.Transportation@state.de.us or mails the 
application to The Delaware Division of Energy and Climate, 100 W. Water Street, Suite 5A, 
Dover, Delaware 19904. 

http://www.de.gov/CleanTransportation
mailto:DNREC.Transportation@state.de.us
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3. DEC reviews the application for completeness.  
 

 If application is complete and the applicant is one of the first twenty applications received 
(due to limited funding), a rebate commitment letter will be sent to the Point of Contact 
via email 

 If the application was received after twenty applications have already been reviewed, the 
PPC will be notified of their placement on the waitlist for this rebate.  
 

4. All rebate commitment letters must be signed and returned to DEC within 10 business days of 
award notice.  

 
5. Within SEVEN (7) days of signing the commitment letter, the PPC completes the “Day 7 form,” 

which is found here, and sends the Vehicle Order Confirmation to DEC via email.  
 

 Failure to complete this form by the deadlines voids the DEC’s commitment to the rebate 
and the rebate may be given to an applicant on the waitlist.  

 
6. Within THIRTY (30) days of receiving the commitment letter, the PPC fills out the “Day 30 form,” 

which is found here, and sends the Vehicle Identification Number (VIN #) and the estimated 
vehicle delivery date to the DEC via email.  
 

 Failure to complete this form by the deadlines voids the DEC’s commitment to the rebate 
and the rebate may be given to an applicant on the waitlist.  
 

7. Within 120 days of receiving the commitment letter, the PPC sends the proof of vehicle delivery 
(i.e delivery form and picture of the vehicle) and the reimbursement package (found here) to the 
DEC via email.  
 

 Reimbursement Packages must include:  
i. Rebate Reimbursement Form signed by PPC and Motor Carrier  

ii. Delivery bill of lading, signed and dated  

iii. Line setting ticket (or factory build sheet)  

iv. Delaware Motor Vehicle registration and tag number (temporary are acceptable)  

v. Photograph of license plate  

vi. Final vehicle/retrofit invoice less rebate amount  
 
 

8. If additional time is needed beyond the 120 days, the Point of Contact is responsible for altering 
DEC and submitted a 120 day extension form (found here)  
 

 Failure to complete this form by the deadlines voids the commitment rebates and the 
rebate may be given a vehicle that was placed on the waitlist.  
 

9. DEC reviews the reimbursement package and submits approval for the release of funds 
 

10. Funds are released and a check is sent to the PPC  

 
 
 

http://www.de.gov/CleanTransportation
http://www.de.gov/CleanTransportation
http://www.de.gov/CleanTransportation
http://www.de.gov/CleanTransportation
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Additional Information  
 

 All trucks must be delivered to the Motor Carrier and completed Reimbursement Packages 
submitted to DEC 120 days from delivery. If there is delay in delivery, it will be the PPC’s 
responsibility to notify the DEC and fill out a 120 extension letter and rationale.  

 DEC reserves the right to increase the program budget at its discretion.  

 Rebate Application Packages must be filled out and signed by the PPC and Motor Carrier.  

 Missing any of the required deadlines will render Rebate Commitments void.  

 PPCs agree that the vehicle/retrofit purchase price will be reduced by the Rebate amount.  

 PPC are responsible for completing rebate applications for each vehicle. Rebates cannot be 
combined.  

 Motor Carriers are limited to five rebates (vehicles per fleet).  

 Motor Carriers are required to own/lease and operate vehicles for a period of no less than three 
(3) years.  

 Rebate Reimbursement Packages must be filled out completely. All documents must contain 
the VIN #. Reimbursement Packages must include:  

o Rebate Reimbursement Form signed by PPC and Motor Carrier  

o Delivery bill of lading, signed and dated  

o Line setting ticket (or factory build sheet)  

o Delaware Motor Vehicle registration and tag number (temporary are acceptable)  

o Photograph of license plate  

o Final vehicle/retrofit invoice less rebate amount  
 

 Final invoices must provide line items listing the vehicle base price, Rebate discount, and all 
applicable taxes and fees.  

o Financial documentation identifying the method and date of final payment to the PPC 
must be provided. This can be a copied check or transaction showing an electronic 
money transfer. If lease or financial arrangements involve a third party, they must also 
be identified with the title or lien-holder clearly indicated.  

o If applicable, a lease agreement for a period of at least 3 years.  
 

 Rebate can only be claimed:  
 

o Upon vehicle delivery  

o Final payment (less rebate amount)  

o The PPC must submit all rebate redemption documentation within 30 calendar days of 
Start of Service Date or 60 days after vehicle delivery to Motor Carrier location. Start of 
Service date is once the vehicle is Delaware Motor Vehicles-registered, delivered to the 
Motor Carrier location, and payment to the dealer is complete. Failure to provide all 
required documents by this deadline may nullify the rebate.  

o Vehicles must maintain Delaware registration for a period of 3 years.  

o Motor Carriers are required to submit baseline vehicle mileage and fuel consumption 
data as well as quarterly vehicle mileage and fuel consumption data reports to Division 
of Energy and Climate for a period of 3 years.  

o Rebate will be allocated on a first come, first-served basis  
  

 Rebate application packages will not be processed and will be returned to the PPC if:  
o Any documents are illegible; or  

o Application package is incomplete or missing supporting documentation.  
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Apply for a Rebate  

To apply for a rebate under the Heavy-Duty Vehicle Rebate Program, please download an 

application and submit the completed application via email to DNREC.Transportation@state.de.us or 

via mail to The Delaware Division of Energy and Climate, 100 W. Water Street, Suite 5A, Dover, 

Delaware, 19904. Applications must be signed by the applicant and all supporting documents must be 

submitted. Applications may be scanned and emailed to DNREC.Transportation@state.de.us or mailed 

to the mailing address above. 

Frequently Asked Questions 

Please click here to see a list of Frequently Asked Questions. If you have additional questions, please 

email DNREC.Transportation@state.de.us 

 

http://www.dnrec.delaware.gov/energy/Documents/Transportation%20Program/Clean%20Vehicle%20Rebate%20Application.pdf
mailto:DNREC.Transportation@state.de.us
mailto:DNREC.Transportation@state.de.us
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