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BASIC COURSES 
 
 The purpose of the Delaware Basic Boating Education program is to provide and 
maintain the necessary education and/or documentation to meet the prerequisites of Delaware’s 
boating education requirements. 
 Students can be certified through any of the NASBLA mentioned basic boater education 
programs.  All persons born on or after January 1, 1978 must take an eight (8) hour classroom 
course or an on-line NASBLA approved certification course.  All methods must be NASBLA 
approved.  Any person may take a proctored test given by the Department of Natural Resources 
and Environmental Control (DNREC), Division of Fish and Wildlife Enforcement staff or make 
arrangements for a proctored test to be administered by a Division of Fish and Wildlife 
Enforcement volunteer instructor. 
 
CERTIFICATION AGE LIMIT 
 
 Delaware law does not have a minimum mandatory age to operate a boat (excluding 
PWC), see PWC separate laws.  Parents/guardians are still responsible for their minor’s actions 
under knowingly permitting to operate to endanger life, limb, and property.   
 Fish and Wildlife Enforcement staff recommends students taking a course of instruction 
must be at least 12 years of age.  Children under 12 years of age must have a parent or guardian 
with them.  For minors over the age of 12 years, parents/guardians must leave an emergency 
number to be contacted in case of an emergency.  Students who sleep or are disruptive in the 
class shall have their parents/guardians pick them up immediately.  As the instructor, you have 
the responsibility of determining whether your student stays in class or is excused. Disruptive 
behavior will not be tolerated.  The use of inappropriate language while in the classroom will be 
grounds for dismissing a student immediately.  Inappropriate behavior constitutes a parent or 
guardian to be called.  At no time, will an instructor place his hands on a student.  The safety of 
the instructor and class is foremost.  You may request that a parent or guardian stay with a 
challenged student.  The Division of Fish and Wildlife Enforcement, Office of Boating 
Education, will provide whatever special needs the student may have.  Students that request any 
special needs, such as an interpreter will be met.  Arrangements must be made for these special 
needs several weeks before the class is held.  Contact the Boating Education Specialist 
immediately to make these arrangements.  If there is a charge for these special needs, the 
Division of Fish and Wildlife Enforcement, Office of Boating Education will take  
responsibility of it. 
 
OFFICE OF BOATING EDUCATION PROGRAMS 
 
Boating Programs: 
 
 1. U.S. Coast Guard Auxiliary 
 2. U.S. Power Squadron 
 3. Delaware Basic Boating Course – Eight (8) hours 
 4. Independent Businesses 
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U.S. COAST GUARD AUXILIARY 
 
 Students attending an authorized U.S.C.G. Auxiliary Basic Skills and Seamanship, 
Seamanship and Sailing, Boat Smart or any other eight (8) hour classroom course, will receive a 
Delaware certification reciprocal with other states. 
 
U.S. POWER SQUADRON 
 
 1. Students attending an authorized U.S. Power Squadron Sail and Power Boating  
  course  will receive Delaware certification. 
 2. Independent instructors (certified by this Division when teaching a NASBLA  
  approved basic boating course).  Students attending a Delaware State Boating  
  course will receive a Delaware certification reciprocal with other states.  
  I.E. Lighthouse Training Institute and any other educational organization   
  approved through the State of Delaware, DNREC, Division of Fish and Wildlife  
  Enforcement, Office of Boating Education. 
 3. Classes that are not State courses should include a Ten (10) Question State  
  Specific Test furnished by the Division of Fish and Wildlife Enforcement,   
  Office of Boating Education. 
 
TEXT-BASIC BOATING COURSE, NASBLA APPROVED 
 
 Direct need for fast, effective learning of the principles of safe boating, taught by 
certified basic boating instructors in a formal classroom setting.  This course teaches theory only.  
There is no on-the-water training in this course.  The full course must be completed. 
 
TALKS, PRESENTATIONS, AND DEMONSTRATIONS 
 
 The Office of Boating Education regularly receives requests to address groups on 
particular topics relating to boating safety.  These presentations may last from one to two  
hours or an entire day.  The Office of Boating Education considers these presentations important 
because they reinforce skills and broaden the knowledge of the participants.  Basic boating 
instructors may be asked to participate in this program.  Uniformed Fish and Wildlife agents 
present “legal requirements” to classes when asked and act as a resource for information on 
safety, prevention of violations, equipment required being on board, and instilling a respect for 
our natural resources. 
 The Fish and Wildlife Enforcement Section, participates in “Career Day” activities to 
explain our role in boating safety and natural resources enforcement.  Enforcement agents should 
provide individual attention to students as necessary. 
 

 
 
 

 
 

 
2 



BOATING INSTRUCTOR 
 
Prerequisites: 
 
 1. Must be 18 years of age. 
 2. Have adequate boating experience. 
 3. Must successfully complete a basic boating course. 
 4. Education – Must be proficient in reading and comprehensive skills. 
 5. Specialized course training required. 
 6. Must have instructor certification.  Instructor certification training will be   
  provided by Division of Fish and Wildlife Enforcement. 
 
 Individuals must undergo a background check.  Refusal to sign a background check 
waiver will not be accepted as an instructor.  Those with criminal arrest records will be reviewed 
for acceptance on a case by case basis. 
 
Instructor Qualifications: 
 
 1. Maximum utilization should be made of the existing cadre of qualified instructors. 
  These instructors have been well trained through State Boating Safety Programs,  
  the United States Coast Guard Auxiliary, the United States Power Squadrons, the  
  American Red Cross, the YMCA, the National Boating Safety Course,   
  Lighthouse Training Institute, and other boating oriented agencies.  Instructors 
  that have completed the required instructor training from one of these sources,  
  and that provide instruction in NASBLA approved courses, should be considered 
  by state agencies to be qualified instructors in boating safety.  However, final  
  determination of an instructor’s qualifications for teaching a state boating course  
  rests with the State Boating Law Administrator or other state official charged with 
  administering a boating safety education program.   
 2. Approval of instructors for specialized courses such as Personal Watercraft,  
  Canoeing, Kayaking, Boardsailing, etc., that are available through the State of  
  Delaware, American National Red Cross, American Canoe Association, Delaware 
  State Fire School, and other approved agencies may be granted.  However, such  
  approval shall be in addition to the qualifications set forth above. 
 3. Apprenticeship programs are required for all new instructors.  New instructors  
  will teach and be critiqued by a certified instructor in charge of the course.  The  
  certified instructor will sign off on the new instructor and forward the form to the  
  headquarters located in Dover, Delaware. 
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Instructor Responsibilities: 
 
A.  Code of Conduct 
  
  Instructors are an integral part of the Boating Education Program and as such,  
 must display the highest code of conduct.  As a member of the team, your goal is to 
 educate the boating public, reduce boating accidents and fatalities, and encourage ethical 
 and courteous behavior. 
 
 1. Conduct yourself in a manner that brings credit to your organization, the Division  
  of Fish and Wildlife, and the State of Delaware. 
 2. Provide for the safety of your students at all times. 
 3. Refrain from long-winded “war stories”.  Sometimes a short story will get the  
  point across.  Use that time to get the students involved.  Try to think of special  
  ways to let the students be a part of the teaching process.  Creative training aids 
  are welcome.  Any questions and/or concerns should be addressed to the    
  Boating Safety Specialist.     
 4. Dress appropriately. Business-casual attire is recommended.  U.S.C.G.   
  Auxiliary and the U.S. Power Squadron wear appropriate attire as per your  
  directives.  One’s appearance reflects one’s professionalism. 
 5. Follow all standards and policies established by the Office of Boating Education, 
  as outlined in this manual. 
 6. Be responsible for upholding the standards of the courses you teach.  You must  
  present all materials accurately and completely.  You may not delete or change  
  the information in boating education material without discussing said information 
  with the Boating Safety Specialist.  This office is always open to suggestions in  
  making the program a better one.   
 
B. Standards of Conduct and Communications 
 
 1. Refrain from making any false statements or degrading comments, sexual, racial,  
  jokes, and statements to your students that would reflect inappropriately on the  
  Boating Education Program, the Division of Fish and Wildlife Enforcement, the  
  State of Delaware, and yourself. 
 2. The Affirmative Action Policy of the Department of Natural Resources and  
  Environmental Control, the Division of Fish and Wildlife Enforcement, and the  
  Office of Boating Education prohibits discrimination toward anyone on the basis   
  of race, religion, color, national origin, sex, age, Vietnam-era veteran status, or  
  physical disability.  In addition, no action will be taken that will    
  threaten, intimidate, or retaliate against anyone.   
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 As a representative/volunteer  with the Division of Fish and Wildlife Enforcement, this 
policy is in keeping with that of the State of Delaware as established by State Law and Executive 
Order. This policy also certifies full compliance with TitleVII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964.  
DNREC is a participant in the State of Delaware’s Affirmative Action Program. 
 It is the policy of the Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control and 
the Division of Fish and Wildlife Enforcement, that the work environment for the volunteers and 
the public they work with should reflect mutual respect and appreciation for individual 
uniqueness and ability.  In doing so, we must be aware of actions and use of language that can be 
construed as demeaning to one’s gender, sexual orientation, age, disability, religious beliefs, 
political beliefs, ethnicity, racial group, and personality conflicts. 
 
C. Display of Explicit Images 
 
 There shall be no display or storage of sexually explicit images, messages, cartoons, 
items that contain ethnic slurs, racial epithets, or anything that may be construed as harassment 
or disparagement of others based on their race, national origin, sex, sexual orientation, age, 
disability, religious beliefs, and/or political beliefs.  
 
D. Course Preparation 
 
 1. Before you can teach, you must determine where the course will be held.  Many  
  schools, civic buildings, private clubs, marinas, and libraries have meeting rooms  
  or classrooms available for community education programs.  A sponsoring  
  organization would be a good resource.  Members of the organization could also   
  be called upon to assist in special topic presentations or in providing additional  
  equipment to enhance your program.  The Office of Boating Education is   
  available to assist in locating facilities, especially state owned. 
 2. Check all supplies before class time to ensure that you have the necessary 
  items and teaching tools. 
 3. Each course must have objectives, a syllabus or course outline, a workbook or  
  text book, Delaware Boating Law Handbook, and an examination. 
 4. The suggested reading-comprehension level that is recommended for students 
  of the boating safety courses are 12 years of age or that of 6th to 7th grade 
  reading-comprehension level.   
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E. Materials Needed: 
 
 1. Instructor Books 
 2. Student Books 
 3. #2 Pencils 
 4. Scantron Test Sheets 
 5. Personal Watercraft Literature 
 6. Charts 
 7. Delaware Boating Guides 
 * Note:  Please refer to the Delaware Boater Guide for the Boating Laws. 
 
F. Method of Implementation 
 
 1. Any method of implementation that complements the course design and achieves 
  the desired results of the sponsoring agency or organization is acceptable.  A 
  program evaluation that includes performance standards, tests, or a workbook and 
  both, shall be a part of each course. 
 2. An examination that is administered as substitute for a NASBLA approved  
  boating safety course must contain questions on all subjects listed in the course 
  content section of these standards. 
 3. Practical application or on-the-water instruction is encouraged but shall be  
  optional, at the discretion of the sponsoring agency, and compatible with  
  course design. 
 
G. Classroom 
  
 1. The classroom should be large enough to seat the expected enrollment. 
 2. When scheduling the room, ask about chairs, tables, chalkboards, and audio- 
  visual equipment that may be available. 
 3. Make sure proper lighting and comfortable room temperature are present. 
 4. If possible, reserve the room four to six weeks in advance to allow for proper 
  publicizing of the course. 
 5. Call assigned area the day before to ensure location, time, and etc. 
 6. Care should be taken, to leave the room clean, and that the equipments used are in 
  their proper place after each session. 
 7. Do not leave the facility until each student has secured their transportation and  
  left the premises!  If any problems occur, please contact Sgt. Gregory Rhodes. 
   
  Office - Monday through Friday, 8:00 am to 4:30 pm at (302) 739-3486 
   Cell – (302) 542-6102 
      or 
   
  Radio Room – 24 hours a day for your county’s closest contacts (302) 739-4580 
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H. Course Fees 
 
 Basic boating courses taught by volunteer instructors are offered free throughout the 
State.  Unless prior approval has been received from the Boating Education Specialist, no 
boating instructor will charge any fees.  Some U.S. Coast Guard Auxiliary organizations and 
U.S. Power Squadron organizations that teach the State course in uniform have charged a small 
fee for utility payments, and etc. 
 
I. Notification of Course 
 
 Each instructor is requested to notify the Office of Boating Education about his or her 
courses in advance.  Intent-to-teach forms will be given to instructors and requested to be sent in 
time to post scheduled classes. 
 
 1. County where courses is located. 
 2. Locations of the courses and their complete addresses and zip codes. 
 3. Dates of courses. 
 4. Times of courses. 
 5. Instructors’ names and their aides, along with a contact telephone number. 
 
J. Publicizing the Course 
 
 The Office of Boating Education will create posters for you to advertise your course.  
You may wish to distribute them or the office can mail them to various Marine dealerships.  The 
office will prepare press releases distributed by the Department to newspapers and radio stations.   
 All classes are posted on the DNREC, Division of Fish and Wildlife Enforcement web 
site at http://intranet.dnrec.state.de.us/FW/. The office will also assist with the advertising of 
U.S. Coast Guard Auxiliary and U.S. Power Squadron courses, Lighthouse Training Institute, 
and other private organizations. 
 
K. Team Teaching 
 
 Class sizes should be determined by whatever size groups, the instructors feel  
comfortable teaching.  Division of Fish and Wildlife Enforcement, Office of Boating Education, 
recommends a team teaching concept for every class.  Team teaching enables a group of 
qualified instructors to provide a variety of teaching methods.  Also in which, problems can be 
identified more easily and dealt with immediately with additional instructors/aides available.  
The Division of Fish and Wildlife, Office of Boating Education, recommends that no instructor 
should teach alone.   
 The Office of Boating Education sends out *evaluation forms along with the state 
certification cards to the students.  This effort has played a major role in monitoring complaints 
and/or compliments.  For example:  Out of the 55 evaluations received back into the office, there 
may have been one negative evaluation.  This shows that the instructors and their aides had been 
doing the job expected of them, and as well as, them doing a good job. 
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L. Field Exercises 
 
 Anyone participating in field exercises must wear approved PFDs at all times when 
representing the Division of Fish and Wildlife, Office of Boating Education. 
 
 ** Injuries must be documented and reported immediately. 
 
M. Course Documentation 
 
 It is your responsibility as the instructor to complete and turn in the proper 
documentations for your courses.  A course is not complete until you have done so.  The Office 
of Boating Education must receive all records no later than ten (10) working days after the 
completion of the course.  Postal paid pre-addressed envelopes will be provided for this purpose.   
 
 The following *forms must be sent to the Dover office: 
  
  1. Intent to Teach 
  2. Course Record Sheet 
  3. Students Sign-Up Sheet  
  4. Scantron Answer Sheets and/or Tests 
  5. Instructor Time Sheet 
 
N. Forms 
 
 All *forms must be filled out legibly and completely.  This is necessary to accurately 
input information into the Division of Fish and Wildlife, Office of Boating Education database. 
  
 
 
* Note:  Samples of forms are provided at the end of the manual. 
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O. Scantron Forms 
 
 In 1989, our record keeping became entirely computerized with the purchase of the 
Scantron system.  Care must be taken in handling the forms.  The top edge and left side of the 
sheet must not be mishandled, bent, stapled, folded, or paper clipped.  This will cause the 
computer to jam, misread, and/or not read the forms at all.  The result being all the data must be 
manually typed into the database. 
 
 All information must be filled in with the exception of the student’s social security 
number.  If the student wishes not to give that information, the computer will assign a number to 
that field.  Instructors should review all *Scantron forms for accuracy. 
 
 1. Students are required to use only #2 pencils to complete the Scantron forms. 
  The Scantron system does not recognize the use of any other form of writing 
  implements.  The use of any other writing implements, results in the system 
  not being able to read the student’s information or test answers. 
 2. The information required by the student is considered the same requirements  
  needed for a state driver’s license and/or a state identification card.  It is   
  recommended that while one instructor is teaching the class, the other instructor  
  and/or aide can be reviewing the forms to ensure that the students did not omit 
  any information required.  All information on the Scantron form is vital for  
  issuance of the State Boating Safety certification card.  Information pertaining  
  to height, weight, race, and etc. must be completed or the certification card 
  will not be sent to the student until said information is supplied to the  
  Division of Fish and Wildlife, Office of Boating Education. 
 3. Have students darken the area corresponding to each letter or number of the    
  required information.  The same information is to be printed in the boxes above. 
  The numbered areas on the bottom of the form is reserved for the standard final 
  exam.  This can be used to as the answer sheet for the exam.  
    
  Note:  Do not use the answer sheet if you are using the Ten Question State  
            Specific Test.  The Scantron system does not recognize the format. 
   
 4. When grading the final exam, the instructor can grade it as P (Pass), F (Fail), or 
  I (Incomplete).  The minimum percent of correct answers to achieve a passing  
  grade on the test is 70%.  The Office of Boating Education does not need to know 
  the grade of the student, however the office does receives calls from the students 
  or their parents inquiring about the final percentage grade.  Marking the forms 
  with the final grade will be left up to the discretion of the instructor.  
 
  Note:  Scantron forms, whether passing, failing, or incomplete, must be returned 
             to the Office of Boating Education, Dover, Delaware. 
 
* Note:  A sample of the form is provided at the end of the manual.  
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GENERAL PROVISIONS 
 
 1. The State of Delaware, Department of Natural Resources and Environmental  
  Control, expects all volunteers to act in a professional manner.    
 2. Volunteers are defined as any individual working directly or indirectly for the  
  Department such as instructors, presenters, aides, or contractual. 
 3. Offensive treatment of a volunteer and/or the public which creates an   
  intimidating, hostile, or abusive work environment is prohibited by this policy and 
  will not be tolerated.  Offensive treatment may be verbal or physical behavior,  
  which is derogatory, disparaging, bullying, threatening and/or disrespectful. 
 4. Constructive criticism that which will improve the business by clarifying and/or  
  instructing, should be welcomed when delivered with respect and discretion.  No  
  instructor or aide should correct another when teaching.  The question or concern  
  should be brought up discreetly and privately and if need be, corrected when the  
  class resumes by the instructor teaching that part of the class. 
 5. Differences of opinions should always be handled privately and discreetly. 
 6. Volunteers should maintain a civil work atmosphere at all times.  Shouting,  
  yelling, using vulgarities, and/or swearing will not be tolerated. 
 7. Sexual harassment is a form of serious misconduct.  Each volunteer of the State of 
  Delaware, Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control,   
  regardless of sex, is entitled to a working environment, which is free from   
  intimidation and sexual harassment.   
 
  The Department will not tolerate any form of sexual harassment by anyone of  
  either sex in compliance with Executive Order 24.     
 
SEXUAL HARASSMENT 
 
 Sexual harassment does not refer to behavior or occasional compliments of a socially 
acceptable nature.  It refers to behavior that is not welcome, that is personally offensive, that fails 
to respect the rights of others, that debilitates morale and that, therefore interferes with the work 
effectiveness of its victims and their co-workers. 
 
 The following practices are prohibited: 
  
 1. Making an unwelcome sexual advance, a request for sexual favors, or other verbal 
  or physical conduct of a sexual nature a condition of favors.  This includes not  
  only co-workers, but any person while in contact with, during volunteer work for  
  the Department. 
 2.  Creating an intimidating, hostile, or offensive working environment by 
   such conduct. 
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 Forms of sexual harassment may also be manifested in different ways.  One of these is 
the demand for sexual favors.  Other behaviors that may be offensive and grounds for a claim of 
sexual harassment include: 
 
 1.  Verbal 
   - Sexual Innuendos 
  - Suggestive Comments 
  - Jokes of a Sexual Nature 
  - Sexual Propositions 
  - Threats  
 
 2.  Non-Verbal 
  -  Sexually Suggestive Object or Pictures 
  -  Graphic Comments 
  -  Suggestive or Insulting Sounds 
  -  Leering 
  -  Whistling 
  -  Obscene Gestures 
 
 3.  Physical 
  -  Unwanted Physical Contact.  I.E. Touching, Pinching, or Brushing the Body. 
  -  Coerced Sexual Intercourse 
  -  Assault 
 
 Sexual harassment may be overt or subtle.  Some behavior, which may be appropriate in 
a social setting, may not be appropriate or permitted in the work place.  Regardless of the form it 
takes, verbal and/or physical; sexual harassment can be insulting and demeaning to the recipient 
of either sex and will not be tolerated.  Each person is expected to comply with this policy and 
take appropriate measures to ensure that such conduct does not occur. 
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REPORTING 
 
 Any volunteer and/or employee who believe that she or he is being sexually harassed 
should advise the offending individual that the conduct in question is offensive and request that it 
be discontinued immediately.  If the she or he does not desire to mention the offending behavior 
to the offending individual, or the conduct in question is not discontinued, she or he should bring 
the concerns to the attention of their coordinator.  Any volunteer who is uncomfortable with 
anyone’s action should separate oneself from that offender’s presence. 
 
DISCIPLINARY ACTION 
 
 Each person is expected to comply with this policy and any violation may warrant 
immediate, appropriate disciplinary action.  Inappropriate remarks or treatment based on any of 
the above are not tolerated and such behavior will result in termination of any volunteer work.  
Disciplinary action shall depend upon the severity of the incident. 
 All persons have the right under the law, to register complaints when they feel that the 
law has been violated in any respect.  No one shall tolerate any such actions and should report 
the same immediately.  If you feel you need help, the coordinator will assist you. 
 Complaints should be written and signed.  The written complaints should include any 
pertinent details, timeframes, names of volunteer(s), employee(s), and/or person(s) involved the 
nature of their involvement, and statements or quotes that the complainant attributes to anyone 
involved.  The complaints will then be submitted to the BLA and/or the State of Delaware, 
Boating Education Coordinator.  The Boating Education Coordinator will then meet separately 
with the complainant and anyone else involved with the complaint, to discuss the problem, 
review the complaint, and obtain any additional information and/or facts needed within ten (10) 
working days after the complaint is received.   
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