
Delaware Fish & Wildlife’s “Take a Kid Fishing” – Frequently Asked Questions…. 

Q: Do we need to bring anything with us? 

A: DFW provides all equipment, bait and instruction.  All you need to bring is personal comfort items such as snacks, 

drinks, chairs, sunscreen/bug spray.  

Q: What is the cost? 

A: The “Take a Kid Fishing” (TAKF) program is funded in part by the Federal Aid to Sport fish Restoration grant and 

therefore, no fee is charged.  Purchases of fishing licenses, boating fuel and tackle help support this grant.  Our hope is 

that you’ll enjoy fishing so much, you’ll purchase your own license and continue to enjoy this easy and accessible 

recreational activity as a family! 

Q: If it’s free, then why does the paper say it costs $3.00 for residents and $6.00 for non-residents?  

A: Some of the “Take a Kid Fishing” programs are held at ponds in Delaware State Parks locations.  If an event is held in a 

park, there is a park entrance fee.  This fee is not part of the “Take a Kid Fishing” program but is required for entrance 

into the parks.   

Q: Why do have to be there promptly at 10AM? 

A:  The program is designed to rotate groups of families through five (5) education stations related to fishing.  Once 

families visit these stations and participate in the activities, we assign fishing rods and provide support throughout the 

fishing activities.  Since the TAKF is staffed by only one (1) full time staff member and a very small group of volunteers, 

beginning this rotation at the same time keeps our participants engaged and our activities on schedule.  When 

latecomers arrive, our staff must leave their station to register these participants and get them in rotation, which can be 

a challenge when there is often 30-50 participants registered.   

Q: My kid’s been fishing before.  Why can’t we just come and fish? 

A: The TAKF program is an educational program designed to offer a “grass-roots” approach to fishing for kids and their 

families – kids and families who have limited or no fishing experience.  Even if your child has been fishing before, 

chances are they have not had a close up look at a fish scale, created a colorful fish print or practiced casting in a safe 

and fun environment.  For the safety and enjoyment of all of our participants, our policy is that we don’t issue a fishing 

rod without participants first going through the education stations.   

Q: Why do I have to register online? Can’t we just show up? 

A: Although we realize that making plans for a Saturday is tough for families due to sports and other activities, we 

require pre-registration so that we know how much equipment to bring.  The TAKF is almost completely mobile - 

Meaning we conduct our program at locations throughout the state which requires loading our truck up the day before 

an event.  Registration numbers are required so that our staff member brings enough equipment and recruits enough 

volunteers to make sure you and your family have a great fishing experience! 

Q: The program ages are 6-15.  What if my child is 5? Or 16? 

A: Fishing requires both fine and gross motor skills.  For some younger children, manipulating a fishing rod can be a 

challenge, which is why we have the minimum age set at six (6).  However, if you have a child younger than six and you 

believe your child has the motor skills needed, you may register your child but please be prepared to provide most of 

the assistance to your child. 

http://www.destateparks.com/


In the State of Delaware, a fishing license is required for ages 16 and up.  More information on obtaining a fishing license 

can be found here.   

Q: What if it rains? 

A: The TAKF program is considered a “rain or shine” event.  However, if the weather forecast is predicting heavy rains or 

thunderstorms during event times, we will cancel.  A message will be placed on the voicemail of (302) 735-8656 by 7AM 

the day of the event, if there is a cancellation.  Please note there is no one in the office on weekends so if you leave a 

message or need to speak with someone, you will want to call M-F between 8AM-4:30PM. 

http://www.dnrec.delaware.gov/fw/Services/Pages/Rec-Lic.aspx

