Skip to Page Content  |  Text Only Governor | General Assembly | Courts | Elected Officials | State Agencies
  Photo: Featured Delaware Photo
  Phone Numbers   Mobile   Help   Size   Print   Email

Skip Navigation LinksDNREC : Division of Fish & Wildlife : Fisheries


Delaware state trout stamp program and results of the 2015 contest


2015 Trout Stamp winner Bart Gelesh of Wilmington next to his winning artwork (blue ribbon) of a brook trout.

Delaware's freshwater trout program is a self-supporting fishery in selected streams in northern New Castle County, and in one pond each in Kent and Sussex Counties, with the fishery funded from fees derived from the state's trout stamp program.

Fees paid for trout stamps are used to purchase trout from commercial hatcheries. Rainbow, brown and occasionally brook and golden trout are stocked in selected streams within two weeks of the spring opening date, and also stocked into the season. There also may be a supplemental fall stocking.

Since Delaware stream temperatures are marginal at best for trout survival in the summer, and no reproduction has been noted, stocked fish are meant to be taken, not caught and re-released.

The Division of Fish & Wildlife began requiring anglers to have trout stamps in the 1930s. Trout stamp art was first used in 1977.

Residents 16 to 64 years of age are required to have a Delaware Trout Stamp, which costs $4.20. Residents ages 12 through 15 years old are required to have a Young Angler Trout Stamp, which costs $2.10. Non-residents 12 years of age and older are required to have a Non-Resident Trout Stamp, which costs $6.20. 

The 2015 Trout Stamp will feature a painting of a brook trout by Bart Gelesh of Wilmington, DE. who won the state contest. He will receive $250 for best in show and retains artist's rights for reproduction and sales of prints of the stamp.

The 2015 Trout Stamp Contest judges were Division of Fish & Wildlife biologist Mike Stangl, artist Karin Snoot, National Trout Unlimited member Ed O'Donnell, Ducks Unlimited representative Jay Reynolds, and member of the Advisory Council on Wildlife & Freshwater Fish and News Journal outdoors columnist Steven Kendus.  

See photos from the 2015 Trout Stamp Contest

Artists: Click here for information about the upcoming 2016 Delaware Trout Stamp contest.


Collectors and buyers:

Delaware Trout stamps from 2012-2015 are available now for sale – click here for an order form.

For more infomation on Delaware trout stamps, please contact:
Division of Fish & Wildlife Licensing Section, 302-739-9918 or email:

site map   |   about this site   |    contact us   |    translate   |