Delaware
Hunting and Trapping Laws
and Regulations

Additional Hunting and Trapping information may also be viewed in the
online version of the Hunting/Trapping Guide:


http://www.eregulations.com/delaware/hunting/

Resident License and Permit
Requirements
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* License requirements related to Delaware landowners of 20 acres or more, DE Military
personnel and DE Disabled Veterans please call 302-739-9918 for qualifications.

Hunters must carry their hunting license and ID with them whenever hunting.



Non- Resident License and Permit
Requirements
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Hunters must carry their hunting license and ID with them whenever hunting.



Waterfowl Stamps

State Waterfowl Stamp:

» Persons 16 years or over and under 65 (16-64 years) must
purchase a state waterfowl (duck) stamp to hunt waterfowl in
Delaware.

* When purchasing your waterfowl (duck) stamp on the electronic
systems, the stamp image is printed on your license if you
purchase your hunting license at the same time. If you purchase
the stamp separately you will receive the stamp image. The
Division no longer mails original waterfowl (duck) stamps
automatically at the end of the season (June 30th of each year). If
you would like an original stamp sent to you please call (302)
739-9918 and provide your name, address and order ID number
after you purchase the electronic stamp

Federal Migratory Bird Hunting and Conservation Stamp:

* A Federal Migratory Bird Hunting and Conservation Stamp is
required for any person 16 years or older to hunt waterfowl.
Stamps are sold at Post Offices. No exemptions are made for 4
persons 65 years or older for purchasing Federal Stamps.




Prohibited Methods of Take
It Is Unlawful To:

GENERAL

« Hunt out-of-season, without a license, take more
than the daily limit, or possess unlawfully killed
game.

« Hunt within 100 yards of an occupied structure
(unless hunter is the owner or occupant or has
permission from the owner or occupant) or drop
shot on buildings or people. When hunting deer
with archery equipment, a hunter must be at least
50 yards from a structure. In New Castle County,
north of [-295 and 1-95 the distance is 200 yards
when hunting with a firearm.

* Discharge any firearm from or within 15 yards of
public road or shoot across a public road or right-
of-way.

« Trespass with gun or dog or trap on private

property without prior permission of the
landowner whether or not the land is "posted.”

« Damage any nest, den, or lair of game animals or
birds.

« Use an artificial light to illuminate wildlife from a
motor vehicle for the purpose of hunting or
observation.

« Use night vision or infrared devices while
hunting.

* For specifics on waterfowl and other migratory
birds, see Federal Regulations at
www.fws.gov/le/hunting.html



http://www.fws.gov/le/hunting.html

Prohibited Methods of Take:
Firearms and Archery Equipment

« Have a loaded firearm, or a cocked
crossbow, in or on a motorboat while
underway, or in, against, or on a motor
vehicle or farm machinery.

 Transport a muzzleloader with a charge in
the barrel unless the cap or primer is
removed and the gun is enclosed in a case
or the striking mechanism is removed.

« Hunt at night (1/2 hour after sunset to 2
hour before sunrise) except that frogs,
raccoons and opossum may be hunted at

 Use a shot larger than No. 2, except when
hunting deer. Waterfow| hunters may use
non-toxic shot up to size T.

« Use a shotgun capable of holding more
than three shells in total except for snow
geese during the Conservation Order.

« Use poison or explosive tip arrows.

« Use a punt or swivel gun or any gun not
normally fired from the shoulder.

Local ordinances may be more
restrictive than state laws. Check
before hunting within incorporated
areas.

night using a handheld light.

 Take game using a shotgun larger than 10
gauge, a fully automatic loading gun
(machine gun), or use a centerfire rifle,
except groundhogs, foxes and coyotes may
be hunted with a centerfire rifle.



Legal Methods of Take

MISCELLANEOUS « It shall be unlawful to release swine (pigs)

« Sell, trade, or barter any game or any parts into the wild, charge a fee for the purpose

thereof, except as permitted by law. Hunters of killing swine, or shoot swine without

shipping lawfully taken game shall first first obtaining a permit from the Division.

obtain a notarized affidavit stating the game

was lawfully killed, and include the name « It shall be unlawful to use antler traps, or

of the sender and the number of animals any device intended to remove or collect

enclosed. shed antlers from deer.

» Shoot hawks, owls, or other wild birds, Squirrel, Rabbit, Pheasant, Quail: Longbow

except lawfully hunted game birds, house or shotgun using no larger than No. 2 shot.

sparrows or starlings. Shotguns must be plugged to hold only 3 shells
(in chamber and magazine combined).

* Possess live protected game animals. Additionally, squirrels only may be hunted with
.17 through .22 caliber rimfire or pellet firearm

« Obtain live rabbits from out-of-state without with a rifled barrel or a muzzleloader rifle of not

a health certificate. larger than .36 caliber firing a round projectile.

* Permit dogs to run at large at any time. Snapping Turtles: May be taken with gig,

(Except landowners of 20 acres or more may trap, net or spear.

permit their dogs to run from October 1

through February 28 on their own land.) Frogs: May be taken with spear, gig, or hook.

* Allow dogs to run at large between the hours Deer: Compound, recurve, longbow, and

of sunset and sunrise by any person on any Crossbow using sharpened broadhead arrows

day. All dogs must be licensed. (min. width 7/8").

* Use bait to hunt game, except bait may be Shotgun no smaller than 20 gauge for deer

used to hunt deer on privately-owned lands. hunting using rifle slug, pumpkin ball or

buckshot and must be plugged to hold only 3

shells (in chamber and magazine combined).
It is unlawful to carry buckshot, rifle slug or
pumpkin ball except while hunting for deer,
and conversely, it is also unlawful to carry shot
smaller than buckshot while deer hunting.

Muzzleloader no smaller than .42 caliber with
a barrel length of at least 20 inches.

Handguns are limited to revolvers and single
shot pistols with a barrel length of at least 5.75
inches and no longer than 12.5 inches and
chambered for and using straight-wall handgun
ammunition in .357 to .38 caliber with a cartridge
case length of no less than 1.25 inches and a
maximum case length of 1.82 inches, or in .41
caliber to a maximum of .50 caliber and a
maximum case length of 1.82 inches.

Straight-walled pistol-caliber rifles are limited
to manually-operated rifles, consisting of lever
action, bolt action, pump action, single shot, and
revolver rifles. These rifles may only be used to
harvest deer. For more information

on these firearms, as well as restrictions on
allowable cartridges, see page 19 of the
Delaware Hunting Guide.



Natural Resources Police

gipan
'HELP FIGHT POACHING.

d'the DENRP Tip app for iPhone/Android to send
ips to help protect Delaware's wildlife and

WHAT DO | DO TO REPORT GAME LAW
VIOLATIONS?

Contact the Division of Fish and Wildlife Operation

Game Theft Hotline Toll-Free at 1-800-292-3030
anytime, 24 hours a day. You will be given an OGT

Case Number. You do not need to give your name at

this time. From this phone call, a Fish and Wildlife

Natural Resources Police Officer will be dispatched
or will return your call. Wildlife offenses need to be
investigated immediately by an officer if there is to

be a chance of making an arrest. The longer the
delay in getting information to the agent, the
smaller the chances of obtaining an arrest and
convictir~

To report game law
violations call:
1-800-292-3030

What is “Operation Game Theft"?

The Operation Game Theft Fund was established
by the 130th General Assembly to assist in the
apprehension and conviction of game law
violators. The fund is comprised of all the fines
levied for violation of game laws in this state and
donations. The Legislature delegated the
authority to the Division of Fish and Wildlife to
designate offenses for which rewards will be paid
and the amount of the reward.

What types of offenses are covered under the
O.G.T. Program?

Up to $1,000.00 can be rewarded for information
leading to the arrest and conviction of a
person(s) involved in:

Class 1 — Reward up to $1,000.00
1. Commercialization of Wildlife.
2. Killing of an endangered/threatened species.

Class 2 — Reward up to $500.00

1. Over limit of black ducks, canvasbacks, turkeys
or Canada geese.

2. Poisoning wildlife.

3. Interstate transportation of illegally taken
wildlife.

4. Gross over limits of wildlife.

5. lllegally hunting or trapping on a state game
refuge.

6. Hunting/Trapping out of season.

7. Possessing, tending or setting killer traps with
a jaw spread in excess of 5 inches.

8. lllegally hunting at night.

Class 3 — Reward: up to $100.00
1. Hunting with an illegal type of weapon.
2. Hunting from a motor vehicle.

NOTE: An additional $100 reward will be

given by the Delaware Chapter of the National
Wild Turkey Federation for information leading
to the arrest and conviction of anyone illegally
killing a wild turkey in Delaware.

How do I get paid?
You will be paid in cash by the agent to whom
you gave your name.

Will my identity be confidential?
YES

Will | get paid for any information that |
provide?

No. Only information which leads to the arrest
and conviction of a violator. (Specific offenses

covered) 8



SUNDAY DEER HUNTING
OPPORTUNITIES

IT IS UNLAWFUL TO HUNT ON SUNDAY, except to chase red fox in season, on
commercial shooting preserves, and to hunt deer on private land and designated publicly-
owned lands.

Sunday deer hunting for established deer seasons is legal on private land at the
discretion of the landowner and on designated publicly owned lands. Deer seasons
to include all statewide Sunday deer hunting dates are indicated on page 16.

More information on statewide Sunday deer hunting dates and public lands open to
Sunday deer hunting is available at the Sunday deer hunting website:
https://dnrec.alpha.delaware.gov/fish-wildlife/hunting/ or by calling the Wildlife Section

office 302-739-9912.



https://dnrec.alpha.delaware.gov/fish-wildlife/hunting/

Deer Tags

Resident

e DE Hunting License comes with 4 antlerless deer tags

e A Quality buck tag is available for $20.00 and comes with a free Hunter
Choice Tag

e Additional antlerless deer tags available for $20.00 each

e  Only two Antlered Bucks may be taken legally.

Non-Resident

e License will come with 4 antlerless deer tags

e An antlered deer tag and a Quality Buck Tag may be purchased for
$50.00 each.

e  Only two Antlered Bucks may be taken legally.

License Exempt Hunters

e 4 antlerless deer tags and a Hunter's Choice tag are provided free
e A Quality Buck Tag may be purchased for $20.00
e  Only two Antlered Bucks may be taken legally.

10



Deer Tags
Resident/ Non-Resident/ LEN

RESIDENT LICENSED HUNTERS

Delaware hunting licenses come with a Deer Harvest Report
Card that contains 4 antlerless deer tags. Quality Buck Tags are
available for $20 and come with a free Hunter’s Choice Tag and
will be included on a hunter’s Deer Harvest Report Card |
purchased. The Hunter’s Choice Tag can be used on an
antlerless or antlered deer. The Quality Buck Tag can only be
used on an antlered deer with a minimum outside spread of
15", Hunters will only be allowed to harvest a maximum of 2
antlered bucks (all seasons combined) by using the Hunter's
Choice Tag and the Quality Buck Tag. All other deer taken must
be antlerless. Additional antlerless deer tags are available for
$20 each. This deer tag?1 system has been implemented to
encourage hunters to harvest antlerless deer and to promote
quality bucks.

NON-RESIDENT DEER TAGS

Non-resident hunting licenses will come with a Deer Harvest
Report Card that contains 4 antlerless deer tags. The cost of an
Antlered Deer Tag and a Quality Buck Tag will be $50 each for
non-resident hunters. Hunters may purchase only one of each
tag. If purchased, these “tags” will be added to the hunter’s
Deer Harvest Report Card. An antlered deer tag may only be
used on a deer with one or more antlers measuring 3 inches or
more.

LICENSED EXEMPT HUNTERS

License exempt hunters will receive a Deer Harvest
Report Card that contains 4 antlerless deer “tags”
and 1 Hunter's Choice deer “tag” at no charge. For
a Quality Buck Tag, license exempt hunters will have
to purchase the Quality Buck Tag using their annual
mandatory License Exempt Number (LEN). This tag
will be added to their Deer Harvest Report Card.
Persons not required to purchase a hunting license
in Delaware must obtain a LEN and associated Deer
Harvest Report Card. License exempt hunters may
no longer make their own deer tags.

For more information about LENSs, please refer to
pages 8 and 9 in the Delaware Hunting Guide.
License exempt hunters are only allowed two
antlered bucks during any license year by all
methods and seasons combined. One free Hunter's
Choice Tag and one purchased Quality Buck Tag.

11



Quality Buck Tags and Deer
Registration

QUALITY BUCK TAGS

Quality Buck Tags may only be

used on an antlered deer with an

outside antler spread of at least

15 inches. The distance between

the tips of a deer’s ears when both

ears are held straight out from

the head in the “alert” position is
approximately 15 inches so a deer

in which this tag would be applicable would
generally need to have antlers that are at le:
as wide as the space between his ear tips.

AUTOMATED DEER CHECKING

All successful deer hunters must register their deer within 24 hours of harvest.
Prior to registering a deer, hunters may not cut the meat or remove

any part of the deer except the internal organs (known as the viscera).

Hunters can register their deer by visiting

https://de.gov/Digital DNREC or by calling the toll free number
1-855-DEL-HUNT (1-855-335-4868). Hunters will answer a series of
questions by using the computer or telephone.

THIS YEAR: Hunters who harvest an antlered deer will be asked to report the
antler spread and number of points.

A ruler can be found on the bottom edge of the center pages of the
Delaware Hunting and Trapping Guide. Spread will be reported as “15
inches or greater” or “less than 15 inches” as measured across the outside
of the mainbeams at their widest point; this measurement’s path must be
perpendicular to the center line of the skull and parallel to the top of the
skull plate. When reporting the number of points, hunters shall report the
number of points that are equal to or greater than one inch in length. If a
point is broken off and less than one inch or a point is shorter than one
inch than it should NOT be counted. At the end of the questions, hunters
will be given a deer harvest registration number. This number will serve as
proof the animal was checked and should be kept for your records and
written in ink in the appropriate section on a hunter’s Deer Harvest Report
Card. If you have problems with this system call (302) 735-3600. Hunters
that take their deer to a butcher shop or taxidermist will need to supply
their registration number to the shop owner as proof the de1e2r was
registered.


https://de.gov/DigitalDNREC

DEER HARVEST
REPORT CARDS AND TAGS

Hunters will no longer receive tags that
must be attached to a deer before the
animal is moved from the place of kill.
Instead, all hunters legally allowed to hunt
deer, will receive a Deer Harvest Report
Card which will show all of the “tags”
available to the hunter based on what they
are eligible for and/or have purchased.

Both the Deer Harvest Report Card and
Delaware Hunting License or LEN card must
be in a hunter’s possession while a hunter is
hunting deer. If a hunter purchases
additional tags, they will receive an updated
Deer Harvest Report Card that will reflect
their original tag(s). Additionally, if a hunter
had already harvested deer and recorded
their harvest information on their card the
harvest information will automatically be
printed on the newly issued card. The most
recently issued Deer Harvest Report Card is
the version that the hunter must keep in
their possession moving forward and all

Upon successfully harvesting a deer, and
before the animal is moved from the place
of kill or field dressed, the hunter must
complete the appropriate section of their
Deer Harvest Report Card that represents
the type of deer they harvested. This
section must be punched and the date of
harvest must be recorded. Once the deer is
registered (no more than 24 hours
following harvest) the deer registration
number is to be recorded in permanent ink
on the card.

IMPORTANT: Hunters shall not remove the
“tags” from their Deer Harvest Report Card
for any reason, including being attached to
a deer and the card should be kept as a
complete document. If a harvested deer is
no longer in a hunter’s immediate
possession, a Deer Carcass Tag must be
affixed to the deer. See the Deer Carcass
Tags section on this page for more
information.

13



Deer Harvest Report Card

| | | 2020-21 Delaware Deer Damage Harvest Report Card

i h inig il 3
licmnses, permits, posses, ond fogs expire on June 30,

sHunier Kames FARK I wkarm D= HUNTING UCERSE «EXOERMEPTe MUR BER: 500000

Daar Damags Antierism Dussr - TRIC orily Tor o caar or
ks desr without srien or with srden that see both e than 3
i lang bt from oroperty sneolied under the Faem D
[Ty

Harvsat Dwise B DO
Fagiztration Kumier: SO0 W00 HI000

Daar Damags Antierism Dussr - VNI orily Tor o cear or
ks desr without srien or with srden that see boch e than 3
irichn lang bt from progeety sneolisd e tha Fas 12
Iimtaet sboww

Harvmat Domta] HRTONOY
Fsgirration Number: K00 0000 X000

Dear Dumsps Antisrisan Desr - Vaid anly for lemas cas or
mals desr withouws M o with srden that see both e than 3
7k koreg hRrmELe o roperny s oled Lndes the Seem 1D
lmine] moowe

Haromat Dt MDD
Rsgirration Number: K00 0000 0000

Dear Dumsps Antiarisan Dessr - Vaid anly for lemas cesr or
ks desr withous srcisre o with ardden that see boch e than 3
17k koreg hRrmELE oo Sromery s ole Lraer the Far IS
lmined mbove

Haromat Dute MDD
Rsgirration Number: K00 0000 X000

Dear Damags Antierism D - TRIc orily Tor o o or
ks hesr wiTfout BITCienn or with Brden that e both e than 3
i long hsrasste from oroperty sneold under the Faem D
Itad miocww

Harvsat Dwise B DO
Fagivration Humbar K00 KO0 K0

Dear Damags Antierism Dussr - FRIC orily Tor IrTam cear or
s desr without Brien or with srden that see boch e than 3
irichisn lang hrasstest from progmety sneolisd e tha Fas 12
[

Harvsat Dwisc B DO
Fagivration Humbar K00 K60 K0

——-VOID----

Instructions

Before removing vour desr or turkey from the plsce of kll:

Punch-oat the appropriste bull's-eve for the "tag” that corresponds to the type of deer you harvested,

Record the date of harvest

Do nat cut ar punch ormexhiair syrmbol unitil you hareest & deer. AR

Hurrters are ra onger reguired to plsce a tag on their harvested deer unless the desr lesves 8 hunter's
irmmediste possessicn,

Yo mmust report your hareest within 24 hours of harvest or before the deer is skinned, dsmemibered for corsumption,
taken to & processorn, or Eedermist.  Register vour deer online et weew dorecdelnwere gow'delhunt or by calling
HBE5-DEL-HUNT {1-855-115-5868). You will receive & registration number which must be recorded in the approprinke
tag abowe.

Aefer to the current Deloware Hunting and Trapping Guide or wisit us online st weee fow delnweregoy for more
irformation on validatng and reporting deer harvests incdhuding where to find cancsss tags which are required to be
affixed to youwr desr if your harvest is no longer in your mmiediate poesesdon. Carcses tags must contam the hunter's
license rasmber, date and time of hareest, and registration nurmber if the desr has been registened.
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Deer Carcass Tags

Hunters that successfully harvest a deer are no
longer required to attach a tag to their deer at the
place of kill before the deer is moved, however they
must complete the appropriate section on the Deer
Harvest Report Card.

The only time a physical tag is required to be affixed
to a deer is if the deer is no longer in the hunter
that harvested the deer’s immediate possession, at
which time the successful hunter must affix a Deer
Carcass Tag. These tags can be found in the middle
of this guide or a hunter can make their own Deer
Carcass Tags provided the tags include the hunters’
name, license number, harvest date and deer
registration number if the deer has been registered.

Examples of what constitutes a deer leaving a
hunter’s immediate possession include dropping it
off at a deer processor or taxidermist, donating it
at one of the Division’s maintained Sportsmen
Against Hunger Coolers, or hanging the deer to
cool and the hunter leaving the area to go
somewhere else.

In essence, if a Natural Resource Police Officer
encountered a hunter’s deer and the hunter wasn't
available to talk with the Officer, then the deer

needs to have a Deer Carcass Tag affixed to the

DEER CARCASS TAG

Hunter’s Name:

License/LEN #: Harvest Date:

Registration #:

You must complete your Harvest Report Card before moving your deer from the place of kill.
This tag must be affixed to your deer if it leaves your immediate possession.
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METHOD OF TAKE

HANDGUN HUNTING

Handguns legal for deer hunting are limited

to revolvers and single shot pistols with a barrel
length of at least 5.75 inches and no longer

than 12.5 inches that use straight-wall handgun
ammunition in .357 to .38 caliber with a cartridge
case length of no less than 1.25 inches and a
maximum case length of 1.82 inches, or in .41
caliber to a maximum of .50 caliber and a
maximum case length of 1.82 inches. When
hunting with a handgun, youth under the age of
18 must be accompanied by an adult 18 years of
age or older. The handgun must be carried
openly on a sling or in a holster and not
concealed. Handgun hunting for deer in only
permissible on privately owned lands situated
south of the Chesapeake and Delaware Canal
and on many state-owned lands. Consult area
maps for more details. In addition to the January
Handgun Deer Season, it is legal to hunt deer
with a handgun during the November and
January Shotgun Deer Seasons. During these
shotgun seasons, the handgun can be carried in
place of a shotgun, but a handgun and a
shotgun cannot both be carried at the same
time. Hunting deer with a handgun is not legal
on Sunday, January 3, 2021, based on state law.

STRAIGHT-WALLED PISTOLCALIBER
RIFLE

Rifles chambered for straight-wall ammunition
legal for deer hunting must be manually
operated, consisting of: lever action, bolt action,
pump action, single shot, and revolver rifles. Only
straight-wall cartridges usable in handguns may
be used that are of .357 to 38 caliber with a case
length no less than 1.25 inches and a maximum
case length of 1.82 inches, or .41 caliber to
maximum of .50 caliber and a maximum case
length of 1.82 inches. Case length excludes the
bullet portion of the cartridge. Additionally, if
there is not a commercially produced handgun
available that is chambered for ammunition that
meets the caliber and cartridge case length
criteria then a rifle chambered for that same
ammunition is not permissible for use. These
rifles cannot be loaded with more than three
cartridges

in the chamber and magazine combined when
hunting deer. Open, metallic/mechanical, optical
and telescopic sights may be used. These rifles
cannot be used for deer hunting north of the
Chesapeake and Delaware Canal.

Throughout the rest of the state, these rifles may

only be used for deer hunting in place of a
shotgun or handgun during the November and
January Shotgun Deer Seasons or in place of a
handgun during the January Handgun Deer
Season. Furthermore, these rifles are not a legal
method of take for any other species (except
groundhogs), including red fox and coyotes.

SHARPS RIFLE

Hunters may use a single shot antique or
authentic reproduction black powder Sharps rifle
of .45 to .60 caliber using paper patched bullets
for hunting deer during any shotgun deer
season.

CROSSBOWS

Crossbows used must have a minimum pull
weight of 125 pounds, be manufactured after
1980, and have a mechanical safety, and may be
equipped with a scope. Crossbows shall not be
transported in or on a vehicle while in the cocked
position.

16



Method of Take and
Hunter Orange

VERTICAL BOWS

No person shall use a compound, recurve, or
longbow with a pull weight less than 35
pounds.

BAITING

It is lawful to distribute and hunt over bait
while
hunting deer.

DEER HUNTING HOURS

1/2 hour before sunrise until 1/2 hour after
sunset.

SELLING DEER PARTS OR DEER MEAT

No person shall purchase, sell or expose for
sale, or transport, ship or possess with the
intent to sell, any deer or any part of such
deer, except for the hides of lawfully killed
deer, at any time." Therefore, taxidermists and
deer butchers may only charge for a service
and may only charge those to whom they are
providing the service. It is illegal to sell deer

taxidermy items and deer meat in Delaware.
This includes the “recouping” of processing
fees for items or meat not picked up by the
legal owner.

HUNTER ORANGE

During a time when it is lawful to take a deer
with a firearm, any person hunting any
wildlife except migratory game birds in this
state shall display hunter orange on that
person’s head, chest, and back totaling no
less than 400 square inches combined. If a
hunter utilizes a ground blind to hunt deer
during a time when it is lawful to take deer
with a firearm and the hunter is completely
concealed within a blind, then 400 square
inches of hunter orange material shall be
placed within 10 feet outside of the blind and
at least 3 feet off of the ground.

17



DELAWARE SPORTSMEN AGAINST
HUNGER PROGRAM

ADVISORY: Availability of the Sportsmen Against
Hunger Program may be impacted by COVID-19.
Hunters are advised to monitor the Division’s website,
http://de.gov/sah, for information on the availability
of coolers as well as participating deer processors.
Some, or all, locations described below may not be
available to accept donated deer. However, the
Division will be working hard to try and make this
important program available without any impacts. In
addition to the contracted private deer processors,
the Division of Fish and Wildlife maintains walk-in
coolers where hunters can drop off deer for donation
to the Sportsmen Against Hunger (SAH) Program.
Only deer legally harvested in Delaware are eligible
to be donated through this program. Deer harvested
out of state will not be accepted.

These locations include in Sussex County: the
Assawoman Wildlife Area near Bethany Beach, the
Mosquito Control Office in Milford, the headquarters

office at Redden State Forest near Georgetown, the
Gumboro Community Center in Millsboro and Trap
Pond State Park near Laurel; In Kent County: the Little
Creek Wildlife Area main tract, east of Dover and the
Main office on the Norman G. Wilder Wildlife Area
near Viola; and in New Castle County: the Augustine
Wildlife Area, in Port Penn.

For more information about walk-in cooler locations
and participating deer processors, visit the SAH
website http://de.gov/sah.

If you own and operate a private deer processing
facility and would like more information about
potentially becoming involved with the SAH program,
please contact the Division at (302) 739-9912.
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FIRST TIME
TURKEY HUNTERS

All first time Delaware turkey hunters must
successfully complete a Division approved
Turkey Hunting Safety Course. This includes
both public and private hunters. Public land
hunters must have completed the Turkey
Hunting Safety Course before they can
apply for a public land turkey permit.

To register for a classroom Turkey Hunting
Safety Course, call the Hunter Education
Office at (302) 735-3600 Ext. 1.

Delaware also accepts two online turkey
courses:

WildTurkeyHuntingCourse.com
(Certification fee $39.95)

todayshunter.com/turkey101/
(Certification Fee $29.99)

Note: Upon completion of the online
course, students must contact the Hunter
Education office at
huntereducation@delaware.gov or

302.735.3600 (Ext. 1) to update their
account to reflect course completion.

Students will be required to submit a copy
of their course completion certificate. Please
include a phone number where the Hunter
Education Office may call, in case there are
any questions.
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HARVEST INFORMATION
PROGRAM H.I.P.

If you are a Delaware migratory bird hunter (ducks, geese, swans,
doves, woodcock, rails, snipe, and coots), you MUST obtain a new
H.l.P number each year.

H.I.P. is the "Harvest Information Program” which is required by
the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (USFWS). It was started in 1992
when California, Missouri, and South Dakota participated in the
pilot program. For many years,

the USFWS has collected waterfowl harvest information through a
post-season survey of hunters who purchased Federal duck
stamps. This survey was fine for its time, but better information is
now needed. Also, the previous

survey did not provide harvest data on other migratory birds like
doves and woodcock. H.I.P. will fulfill these needs.

Under the Harvest Information Program, migratory bird hunters
need a special permit to hunt. To get the permit, hunters have to
provide their name and address, and answer a few questions
about their previous year's hunting effort and success. This
information is collected by the state, remains totally confidential,
and goes immediately to the USFWS which randomly selects

hunters to receive a survey form. This way, hunters have the
forms to record harvest information during the season instead of
after the fact like the old survey required. By surveying while
hunting is going on, much better information should be available
to the Service for evaluating bird harvests and the status of
migratory bird species.

If you are going to hunt migratory birds in Delaware, you MUST
have a H.I.P. number. To obtain your number please visit
https://de.gov/Digital DNREC or call toll free 1-855-335-4868.

THIS PERMIT IS FREE. Hunters shall record their 6-digit H.I.P.
number on their hunting license. If the H.I.P. number is obtained
at the same time the license is acquired, or if a hunter reprints
their license after receiving their number, it will automatically be
printed on the license.

Non-Toxic Shot

Non-toxic shot, as approved by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife
Service, is required for all waterfowl hunting within the
State of Delaware. There are no exceptions. For a list of
currently approved non-toxic shot types visit
http://flyways.us/fag/what-type-shot-approved-non-
toxic-us. 20
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CONSERVATION ACCESS PASS

Effective July 1, 2017, a Conservation Access
Pass is required for any registered motor
vehicle used to access designated Delaware
State Wildlife Areas for any allowable activity,
including hunting, birdwatching, hiking and
photography. The Conservation Access Pass will
help the Division of Fish and Wildlife maintain
and improve these areas for hunting, wildlife
viewing and wildlife photography. These funds
will also help support habitat improvements
on State Wildlife Areas.

A FREE annual Conservation Access Pass

will be provided with the purchase of a hunting
license. In order to receive a free Conservation
Access Pass the hunter must present a vehicle
registration card at the time of the hunting
license purchase. The Conservation Access Pass
is assigned to a single specified registered motor
vehicle and may be transferred to another
registered motor vehicle of the same ownership
for a fee of $10.00 only through the Division of
Fish and Wildlife Recreational Licensing Office
302-739-9918 or email: dfwreclic@delaware.gov.

If a free Conservation Access Pass is not selected
during the purchase of the hunting license, one
may be obtained by contacting the Division of
Fish and Wildlife Recreational Licensing Office

and providing the hunter’s driver’s license,
hunting license and a vehicle registration card.
Requests are processed in the order they are
received and may take up to four weeks.

The Conservation Access Pass must be displayed
in the assigned vehicle as described on the Pass.
The Pass is available annually July 1 - June 30
and is valid from the date of the hunting license
purchase until June 30. The non-resident 3-day
hunting license receives a free annual Pass.
License exempt hunters not purchasing a
hunting license who use a motor vehicle to
access State Wildlife Areas must purchase the
Pass. Hunters who are issued a free Pass may
purchase additional Passes if they use multiple
vehicles throughout the year to access State
Wildlife Areas where the Pass is required.

The Conservation Access Pass may be purchased
online, at authorized license agents throughout
the state or at the Division’s licensing desk in the
Richardson and Robbins Building, 89 Kings
Highway, Dover, DE. Remember to have your
vehicle registration card available at the time of
purchase. Visit https://de.gov/digitaldnrec to
purchase the Pass online or to find a complete
list of authorized license agents.

If you have questions about purchasing the Pass,
please call the Division’s Recreational Licensing
Office at (302)739-9918.

Hunters using a motor vehicle to access a State
Wildlife Area to hunt from a waterfowl blind or
deer stand must also have the Pass displayed in
the vehicle. See page 38 in the Delaware Hunting
and Trapping Guide for more information.

State Wildlife Areas exempt from the
Conservation Access Pass include the C & D
Canal Conservation Area, including the Michael
N. Castle Trail, designated fishing and boating
access areas, educational facilities and shooting
ranges. Additional areas may also be exempt. For
a complete list of areas where the Pass is
required or areas where the Pass is exempt,
please visit our website www.de.gov/fw or call
the Division’s Wildlife Section at (302)739-9912.

A Conservation Access Pass shall not be required
to access applicable lands leased from the
Department, provided access is for the purpose
for which such lands are leased.
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Boating Safety

Each year more hunters die from drowning and the
effects of hypothermia than from gunshot wounds.
Statistics show that the majority of capsizing and
falls overboard occur with boats less than 20 feet in
length. Some boat designs are not as stable as
others. Hunters often use smaller, more easily
transportable crafts like john boats, bass boats or
canoes. These types of boats, because of their flat
bottoms or narrow beams, are more prone to
swamping or capsizing. Personal Flotation Devices
(PFD's) are essential and should be worn at all
times. Special wearable flotation vests and coats for
hunting are available and are comfortable and
warm for the coldest duck and goose hunting days.

HUNTING FROM BOATS

During the waterfowl season, it shall be unlawful for
any person to hunt from a boat of any kind that is
within 1,500 feet of an established blind, unless
they have permission from the blind owner, except
that:

« Any person may retrieve crippled waterfowl! by the
use of a boat in accordance with federal
Regulations;

« Any person may use a boat for transportation to
and from an established blind lawfully used by such
person;

» Any person may hunt from a boat that is firmly
secured and enclosed in an established blind.

During the waterfowl season, it shall be unlawful for
any person to hunt from a boat, or a floating or
fixed blind in the Little River in areas bounded on
both sides by land administered by the Division.

During the waterfowl season, it shall be unlawful for
any person to hunt within 900 feet of the shoreline
(high tide line) of the Delaware River and Bay,
between the Appoquinimink River and the Smyrna
River, without written permission of the closest
adjoining landowner(s).

Furthermore, it shall be unlawful for any person to
hunt within 1,500 feet of the shoreline (high tide
line) of the Delaware River and Bay, between the
Smyrna River and the Murderkill River, without
written permission of the closest adjoining
landowner(s).

It shall be unlawful for tender boats servicing
gunning (layout) rigs to be further than 1,500 feet

TAKE A BOATING EDUCATION COURSE

Boatlng Safety Tips:

Wear your PFD (life jacket)

Never cross large bodies of water during
rough weather in a boat that can't take the
conditions due to size and/or overloading.
Stay with your boat if you capsize and can't
get to shore. Try to climb on it.

Avoid standing up or moving around the
boat.

Never move about your boat with a loaded
firearm.

Read the capacity plate attached to the
inside hull as a guide to keep from
overloading your boat.

Distribute your gear evenly.

Don't drink alcohol. Alcohol lowers your
body's core temperature and encourages
individuals to take chances they wouldn’t
normally take. Guns, alcohol and/or drugs
don't mix. It is illegal to be in possession of

P

Those persons born on or after January 1, 1978 must take an approved boating education course before operating
a boat. Contact the Office of Boating Safety & Education for more information on taking a classroom course: (302)

739-9915. OR Take an online course at http://de.gov/boatsafety.
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Please contact the Delaware Hunter Education Office if you have any
questions.

Huntereducation@delaware.gov or (302)735-3600 x1

We Bring You Delaware’s Great Outdoors
through Science and Service
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