Skip to Page Content
Delaware.gov Governor | General Assembly | Courts | Elected Officials | State Agencies
  Photo: Featured Delaware Photo
 
 
  Phone Numbers   Mobile   Help   Size   Print   Email

Skip Navigation LinksDNREC : Division of Fish & Wildlife : Hunter Education

 
Hunter Education Courses

 

Hunters should know:

  • TO PLAN AHEAD! – Don't wait until the last minute to take a hunter education course. Classes are usually available somewhere in the state during every month of the year. If you plan to go hunting in the coming season and you need your hunter education certification in order to buy a license, check the latest online schedule today.

  • That early pre-registration is advised because class seating is limited and classes fill quickly as hunting season approaches.

  • That hunter safety/certification cards can be printed online within a few days after the course and must be presented when purchasing a Delaware Hunting License.

  • That certification will not be issued to children under 10 years of age. Children under the age of 12 must be accompanied by an adult.

  • That all course schedules are subject to cancellation or change without notice.

  • That, if you cannot attend a course you have signed up for, to please contact the Hunter Education Office at 302-735-3600 (ext.1) or remove yourself from the class by going to Hunter Education Online Access.

Hunter Education course options are listed below:

 
Basic Hunter Ed Option 1- Live Class

Sign up for a Traditional Basic Education Course given live at one of DNREC Hunter Ed's classroom locations throughout the state. New Hunters learn safety. ethics, firearm typed, safe gun handling, marksmanship techniques, specialty hunting techniques, wildlife management, wildlife ID, survival, etc.

Delaware law now requires all basic hunter education course participants to participate in a live firing experience with a trained instructor. Live firing of shotguns requires a liability release signed by students 18 or older or a notarized signature of parents/guardians of students under the age of 18.

All live courses are free of charge with most held in late summer and fall. Pre-registration is required.
To sign up, go to the Hunter Education Online Access or call
(302-735-3600 ext. 1)

NOTE: Do not bring ammunition or guns to class - both will be provided.

Items needed for class:

  • Eye and ear protection (safety glasses and hearing protection)
  • Dress for the weather (Shooting will take place outside)
  • Bagged lunch (optional)
  • Students must be at least 10 years old to be certified. Parent must accompany students under 12.
  • NOTE: Failure to send in the Liability Form could result in a student not being able to participate in the class.
  • Please call 302-735-3600 (Ext.1) with any questions.
 
Basic Hunter Ed Option 2 - Internet Course

Complete your hunter education coursework online with one of three private vendors. All three courses allow you to study and take the exam for free, with a fee due only when you are ready to have the vendor certify your successful completion. The State of Delaware has reviewed and approved these interactive courses but receives no portion of the vendor’s fee.

New hunters learn safety, ethics, firearm types, Delaware laws and regulations, loading/unloading, safe handling and transportation of firearms, field skills involving blinds, boats and tree stands, zones of fire, obstacle crossing, operation of safeties and shotgun live firing.

Click on one of these Delaware approved courses to start your online course:

 HUNTERcourse.com banner  Hunteredcourse.com  Huntered.com
Upon your successful completion of the course, the vendor will create a “Field Day Entrance Voucher” authorizing you to take part in the “hands-on” field day training for internet course graduates, which is required for final hunter education certification by the state. There is no charge for field day training.
After you print out your voucher, go to Delaware’s
Hunter Education Online Access to sign up for your "Basic Hunter Ed: Field Day for Internet Course Graduates Course." You must print out your Field Day Entrance Voucher and bring it with you to the field training.

Delaware law now requires all basic hunter education course participants to participate in a live firing experience with a trained instructor. Live firing of shotguns requires a liability release signed by students 18 or older or a notarized signature of parents / guardians of students under the age of 18. For more information about the Delaware Hunter Education Program and scheduled courses, click here or call (302)-735-3600 ext 1.

NOTE: Do not bring ammunition or guns to class - both will be provided.

Items needed for class:

  • Certificate of Completion/Voucher from online course.
  • Eye and ear protection (safety glasses and hearing protection)
  • Dress for the weather (We will go outside to shoot)
  • Bagged Lunch (optional)
  • Failure to send in the Liability Form could result in a student not being able to participate in the class.
  • Students must be at least 10 years old to be certified. Parent must accompany students under 12.
  • Please call 302-735-3600 (Ext.1) with any questions.
 
Mandatory Turkey Education

In addition to complying with other hunter education requirements, Delaware hunters must successfully complete a mandatory, one day turkey hunter education class before they can apply for a public land turkey hunting permit or legally hunt turkeys in Delaware. Classes are generally held the second weekend of February in all three counties.

Successful completion of the course Mandatory Turkey Education on your Hunter Education Card is required for hunting on private land.

Mandatory Turkey Education: Online Option
Wildturkeyhuntingcourse.com (Certification fee $39.95)

Delaware also accepts an online turkey course that can be found at www.wildturkeyhuntingcourse.com. Upon completion of the online course, contact the Hunter Education office at (302) 735-3600 ext. 1.

NOTE: After students have completed any of the accepted online courses, they are asked to mail or fax their certificate of completion to the Hunter Education Office so that records can be updated. (Please include a phone number where the Hunter Education Office may call, in case there are any questions.)  

Address: Hunter Education Office                      Fax: 302-653-6755
              6180 Hay Point Landing Rd.
              Smyrna, DE 19977

 
  Mandatory Trapper Course

Trapper education is a mandatory prerequisite for purchasing a Delaware trapping license for all persons born on or after January 1, 1978. Class and Field work sessions include trapping history, heritage and ethics, furbearing animals of Delaware, trapping equipment, boating safety, hypothermia, practical water sets, hands-on instruction, how tides affect sets, proper skinning techniques, fur handling and how to market furs. Classes are generally held at the end of November.

Mandatory Trapper Education: Online Option

Trappered.com (Kansas Furharvester Education Course - No fee)

NOTE: Upon completion of any of the accepted online courses, students are asked to mail or fax their certificate of completion to the Hunter Education Office so that records can be updated. (Please include a phone number where the Hunter Education Office may call, in case there are any questions.)

Address: Hunter Education Office
                 6180 Hay Point Landing Rd.
                 Smyrna, DE 19977

Fax: 302-653-6755


International Bowhunter Education Program (IBEP) 

Though not a Delaware requirement, this special course is required in many other states and provinces for bowhunters. Participants in this course learn bowhunting methods, game trailing and recovery, field experience, bowhunting safety, reading game signs, safe use of tree stands, calling, field dressing, and more.

Youths under the age of 14 must attend with a responsible adult.

Live firing and a signed liability release and advance online registration are required for participation. 


Y
oung Waterfowlers Program

Always a favorite, these courses (approximately 20-30 hours) provide youths between the ages of 12– 16 with exposure to the complete waterfowl experience.

Covered in the class is everything from waterfowl ID, biology, blind construction and safety, decoy use, duck calling, camouflage technique, boating safety, bird recovery, laws and regulations, language and tradition, firearms, ammo and equipment . The course includes basic hunter education and finishes with an actual mentored waterfowl hunt. Participants must be hunter education qualified prior to hunting.

A signed liability release and advance online registration are required for participation.


Successful Hunting with a Muzzleloader

Hunting with a single-shot muzzleloader is challenging. Well-honed hunting and superior marksmanship skills are needed in order to effectively harvest game with a single shot. Moving quickly beyond the basics, this course provides information on precision sighting, range and marksmanship technique, trajectory and ballistics.

Stress will be on the latest trends in muzzleoader technology, updated safety information and explanation of new projectiles.

Live firing and a signed liability release and advance online registration are required for participation.


Handgun Hunting for Deer

Delaware's newest method of sport hunting specific for deer season now allows hunting of whitetail deer with certain handguns. This course offers hunting-oriented revisitation of all essential fundamentals of handgun shooting and sighting in, information and techniques, equipment and safety.

Live firing and a signed liability release and advance online registration are required for participation.


Precision Firearms

Delaware hunters often hunt large game not only within but also outside of our state boundaries. This course concentrates on the hunting use of precision, deer-legal, scoped long guns and includes rifles, even though their use for hunting is permitted only outside of Delaware. Subjects covered include: shooting fundamentals, equipment, optics, ammunition, transportation of firearms internal, external and terminal ballistics, shot placement, missed shot analysis and safety considerations.

Live firing and a signed liability release and advance online registration are required for participation.

 

site map   |   about this site   |    contact us   |    translate   |    delaware.gov