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ASSAWOMAN WILDLIFE AREA
Muddy Neck Tract Hunting

! E

THE BOUNDARIES SHOWN 
ON THIS MAP ARE 

APPROXIMATE AND ARE 
ONLY TO BE USED AS 

A GUIDE. 

Wildlife Area
Æü CAP Required

") Deer Stand
") Waterfowl Blind

D Dove Field
Dirt Road

We Bring You Delaware's Great Outdoors
through Science and Service

Zone 1

Zone 3

Zone 2

Effective July 1, 2017, a Conservation Access Pass (CAP) is
required for any registered motor vehicle used to access
designated Delaware State Wildlife Areas.



HUNTING 
ASSAWOMAN WILDLIFE AREA  
Miller and Muddy Neck Tracts 

Effective July 1, 2020 – June 30, 2021 
 
Persons may use state wildlife areas only as directed by the 
following rules, which have been established by Wildlife 
Regulations 3900 of the Division of Fish and Wildlife, pursuant 
to Section 103, 7 Delaware Code.  Please refer to the General 
Overview map for additional access and allowable use 
information. 
 
*As of July 1, 2017, a Conservation Access Pass (CAP) is 
required for any registered motor vehicle used to access 
designated public lands owned or managed by the 
Division of Fish & Wildlife.  For more information go to 
www.de.gov/fw or call (302)739-9912. 
 
GENERAL 
1.  Violators of wildlife area regulations may be subject to fines 
and/or revocation of hunting privileges on state wildlife areas 
for up to one year. 
2.  Persons who possess, consume, or are under the influence 
of drugs or alcoholic beverages are prohibited from hunting or 
possessing firearms on Division Lands. 
3.  Failure to accurately complete and return harvest data 
cards may result in loss of hunting privileges. 
4. Firearms may not be discharged outside of established 
hunting seasons. Target shooting is prohibited at any time. 
 
DEER HUNTING 

** SUNDAY DEER HUNTING PERMITTED. SEE SUNDAY 
DEER HUNTING MAPS FOR OPEN AREAS AND HUNTING 

IMPLEMENT RESTRICTIONS ** 
A. Archery 
1.   Archery hunters may hunt anywhere (excluding refuges, 
safety zones, and impoundment dikes) but must register for a 
zone at the designated tag boards and indicate which stand 
they will be hunting closest to. 
2.   Archery hunters must register through the daily lottery and 
hunt from the state built stands during any overlapping firearm 
deer season. 
3.   Archery hunting is closed on the Miller Neck Tract on the 
special Youth Deer Hunt days.  
4.   Archery hunters may use temporary portable stands.  No 
permanent deer stands, platforms, ladders, or blinds may be 
constructed.  No screw-in steps, tree spikes, screws, or nails 
are allowed.  All parts of temporary portable deer stands must 
be removed at the end of each days hunt.  
 
B. Firearm – Muzzleloader, Shotgun, Handgun 
1.  A Wildlife Area Deer Stand / Waterfowl Blind Lottery Permit 
is required to hunt during all deer firearms seasons.  
2.  Stands issued by lottery at the Assawoman Check Station. 
3.  Drawings held 1 1/2 hours before sunrise (2 hours before 
sunrise during November shotgun season).  Stands not issued 
through lottery are available on a self-signup basis. 
4.  This area IS NOT OPEN for the special October antlerless 
firearms season.  Archery hunting is allowed during this 
season in accordance with state and area laws. 
5.  Refuge stands (R1-R10) are open on Mondays and Fridays 
of all firearm seasons beginning on the first Monday of 
November shotgun season. 
6.  Only one firearm is permitted per deer stand. 
7.  Deer drives are permitted on Tuesday, Wednesday and 
Thursday only between 9:00 AM and 3:00 PM by parties of 6 
or fewer resident hunters. Non-resident hunters may not 
participate in deer drives. 
8.  Handgun hunting permitted during the January handgun 
season.  Refuge stands will not be open.    
9.  Disabled deer hunting locations are available for non-
ambulatory hunters authorized to hunt from a vehicle (HD1-
HD4). These locations will not be open on days when refuge 
stands are being hunted. For advance reservations call 539-
3160. All non-ambulatory hunters must be accompanied by an 
assistant. 
10.  Disabled deer stands equipped with stairs (4, 16, 33, 56) 
are available for hunters possessing a Disabled Hunter 
Permit. If not filled by disabled hunters these stands are 
available during general lottery. 

11.  Hunters are permitted to use designated established 
roadways to retrieve harvested deer between the hours of 
10:00 AM – 12:00 PM and from ½ hour after sunset – 9:00 
PM. 
 
UPLAND HUNTING 
A. Small Game 
1.  Small game hunters must display at least 250 square 
inches of blaze orange while hunting on State Wildlife Areas. 
2.  All small game hunters must sign in and return a completed 
harvest data card available at the Assawoman Check Station. 
3.  Gray squirrel hunting permitted in season. 
4.  Rabbit hunting closed the week before and the week of 
December antlerless deer season and during the January 
shotgun deer season. 
5.  Hunting prohibited within posted refuges and safety zones 
and dogs are not permitted to enter refuges for any reason. 
6.  Rabbit dogs may be trained only on the following Sundays: 
September 6, 13, 20, 27, October 4, 25, November 1, 8. 
 
B. Dove 
1.  No person shall hunt doves on state wildlife areas during 
the early season while possessing shot other than approved 
nontoxic shot.  
2.  Dove hunting allowed on Opening Day, Labor Day, and all 
Saturdays in September. Sign in required at the Assawoman 
Check Station at 12:00pm. 
3. Dove hunting permitted anywhere (excluding refuges and 
safety zones) during late seasons, obtain permit from the 
Assawoman Check Station. 
 
C. Turkey 
1.  Turkey hunting by permit only. Permits awarded through 
preseason lottery.  See Delaware Hunting and Trapping Guide 
for application. 
 
D. Furbearers 
1.  No trapping except by valid contract holders. Trapping 
rights awarded through competitive bids. Call (302) 739-9912 
for bidding information. 
2.  Raccoon hunting is permitted from Sept 1 – March 31 
during legal raccoon hunting seasons. 
3.  Fox and coyote hunting permitted in season while hunting 
other game species per these map regulations.  No fox 
chasing permitted during any deer firearm season or prior to 
1:00 PM during turkey season. 
 
WATERFOWL HUNTING 
1.  Hunting by permit only, issued by a daily lottery held at the 
Assawoman Check Station.   
2.  Drawing held 2 hours before sunrise.  Blinds not issued 
during the drawing are available on a self-signup basis until 
1:00 P.M. 
3.  All hunting from state built blinds only.  
4.  No more than 3 persons may occupy one blind. 
5.  No airboats. 
6.  No waterfowl hunting from upland fields except from state 
built blinds. 
7.  This area will be open during the Snow Goose 
Conservation Order. See official seasons and regulations. No 
permit or sign-in required during the conservation order. 
 
 
 
 
 
 ___________________________________________ 

David E. Saveikis, Director 
 

For further information contact the Division of Fish and Wildlife 
at (302) 739-9912 or the Sussex County HQ at (302) 539-
3160. 
 
For emergencies or to report violations please call the 
Enforcement Section at 1-800-523-3336. 
 




