Skip to Page Content
Delaware.gov  |  Text Only Governor | General Assembly | Courts | Elected Officials | State Agencies
  Photo: Featured Delaware Photo
 
 
  Phone Numbers   Mobile   Help   Size   Print   Email

Skip Navigation LinksDNREC : Division of Fish & Wildlife : Hunting

 
Frequently asked questions about Delaware's hunting license fees

 

 

When will I be required to have a hunting license using the new fee structure and requirements? The new fee structure went into effect July 1, 2007.

Where are licenses available to purchase? All licenses and permits are available at the Statewide License Agents and online.

What are my options for purchasing licenses? The following are options available to hunters:

Resident Hunting

   $25

Non-Resident Hunting

   Reciprocal

Non Resident 3-Day

   $50

Resident Guide

   $100

Non-Resident Guide

   $300

Public Lands Annual Blind Site Fee

   $20

Resident Junior Hunting (Ages 13-15)

   $5

Non-Resident Junior Hunting (Age 13-15)

   Reciprocal 

At what age do I need a license? Residents aged 16-64; resident youth license, aged 13-15; non residents age 16 and older; non-resident youth, aged 13-15.

I am a resident and 65 years or older.  What are my exemptions from licensing? You are exempt from licensing if you are 12 years old or younger, or 65 years of age or older. Non-residents 12 years old or younger only are exempt.

What is the Delaware definition of a guide? A guide is someone who receives money or in-kind services for taking people hunting.

I own a 15-foot bass boat. I have a Delaware Hunting Guide license. Must I also have a Coast Guard license? Yes. When you take out a paying client, you must have a Coast Guard license in your possession. However, you do not need a Coast Guard license when you are operating your own boat for pleasure purposes (i.e., you are not operating with any passengers for hire).

 

Why does the Coast Guard require me to hold a license when I usually carry just one or two passengers for hire? As with other modes of transportation, many years ago the U.S. Congress insisted that passengers on vessels be afforded the same level of protection as those using other forms of public conveyance. In addition to requiring vessel operators to have the skills and knowledge necessary for safe operation (as demonstrated in order to obtain a license), they also wanted to reduce the threat of vessel casualties caused by operators under the influence of illegal drugs or alcohol. To meet those goals, they passed legislation requiring licenses and drug testing. The Coast Guard is the primary federal agency with the responsibility to enforce those regulations on vessels. The fine for not complying is severe, up to $10,000. 

                                        

What are the licensing requirements and exemptions for residents and non-residents for hunting and fishing? Title 7, Chapter 5, Delaware Code, defines the Division of Fish & Wildlife's authority.

site map   |   about this site   |    contact us   |    translate   |    delaware.gov