Skip to Page Content  |  Text Only Governor | General Assembly | Courts | Elected Officials | State Agencies
  Photo: Featured Delaware Photo
  Phone Numbers   Mobile   Help   Size   Print   Email

Skip Navigation LinksDNREC : Division of Watershed Stewardship



Floodplain and Drainage Advisory Committee (FDAC)

  • Secretary Collin P. O'Mara's letter transmitting the Delaware Floodplain and Drainage Standards and Recommendations Report to the General Assembly

ADVISORY: Delaware Floodplain and Drainage Standards and Recommendations - A report to the Delaware General Assembly by the Delaware Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control (March 15, 2013)

Report Appendices:

Appendix A - Senate Bill 64 - Senate Amendment 2 and House Ammendment 1 signed Aug. 17, 2011
Appendix B - Meeting Notes
Appendix C - Secretary's Order 2013-WS-0029
Appendix D - Committee Votes
Appendix E - Community Survey Form
Appendix F - Results of Community Survey
Appendix G - Review of Floodplain and Drainage Standards by University of Delaware

Governor Jack Markell signed Senate Bill 64 into law in 2011, establishing a Floodplain and Drainage Advisory Committee for Delaware. Recent storm events have demonstrated that significant drainage and floodplain problems continue to occur in Delaware, and that existing standards and practices for building in flood-prone areas may not provide adequate protections. Snowmelt and rainfall in the spring of 2010 caused damaging flooding and standing water in many areas which do not have standards in place to prevent new development from these impacts. The cost of flood insurance has risen to the point that it can become unaffordable for many homeowners, who often have purchased properties in high risk areas without being aware of flood threats.

The new advisory committee will prepare recommendations for higher floodplain and drainage standards. This committee will also evaluate the capacity of local governments to enforce higher standards, identify communities which may already have adequate local standards, and those with local standards that do not meet the committee’s recommendations.

Committee Members

Committee Chair
Frank Piorko - Delaware Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control

Committee Members
Barry Benton – Delaware Department of Transportation
David Carlson – Delaware Emergency Management Agency
Rich Collins – Delaware Association of Counties – Sussex County
Vince D’Anna – Delaware Association of Realtors
John Garcia – Home Builders Association of Delaware – Non-Voting Member
Michelle Harel – Federal Emergency Management Agency
Mike Harris – Delaware Association of Counties – New Castle County
Ronald Hunsicker – Bowers Beach
Quinton Johnson – Delaware House of Representatives – House Speaker
Bruce Jones – American Council of Engineering Companies
Sarah Keifer – Delaware Association of Counties – Kent County
Lew Killmer – Sussex County Association of Towns
Paul Morrill – Committee of 100
Fred Mott – Delaware Association of Conservation Districts
Michael Powell – Delaware Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control
Gene T. Reed – Delaware Insurance Commissioner’s Office
Mike Riemann –  Home Builders Association of Delaware
Richard Sobota – Federal Emergency Management Agency
Jeff Bergstrom – City of New Castle


Contact Information:

Flood Plain Contact Information 302-739-9921
Michael Powell -
Greg Williams -

Drainage Contact Information 302-739-9921
Brooks Cahall -
James Sullivan -

Other inquires:
Marcia D Cagle
89 Kings Highway
Dover, DE 19901
Phone: 302-739-9921




about this site   |    contact us   |    translate   |