Skip to Page Content Governor | General Assembly | Courts | Elected Officials | State Agencies
  Photo: Featured Delaware Photo
  Phone Numbers   Mobile   Help   Size   Print   Email

Skip Navigation LinksDNREC : Division of Watershed Stewardship

Wetlands Advisory Committee 

Governor Jack Markell signed Senate Bill 78 into law in July 2013. This legislation establishes a Wetlands Advisory Committee to develop comprehensive recommendations for conserving and restoring non-tidal wetlands in Delaware, including evaluating national best practices and standards, evaluating incentive-based programs, and reviewing state and federal wetland permitting processes to identify opportunities to improve efficiency and eliminate redundancy. 

Wetlands cover approximately 25 percent of the total land area in the state of Delaware and provide numerous benefits. Wetlands provide flood storage, water purification, and habitat for economically important wildlife. The loss of wetlands in the state has led to flood damage and adverse effects to landowners’ safety, welfare, and personal property.  

DNREC Secretary David Small's Letter to the Committee

Final Report Published November 2014

Advisory Committee Meetings 

Upcoming Meetings
No meetings currently planned. 

Past Meetings

Relevant Documents

Advisory Committee Members (listed in alphabetical order) 

Chris Bason
Edward Bonner
Sarah Cooksey
Mark Davis
Tim Deschepper
Hal Godwin
Brenna Goggin
Mary Ellen Gray
George Haggerty
Rep. Debra Heffernan
Sen. Gerald Hocker
David Hugg
Sally Kepfer
Josh Littleton
Andy Manus
Robert McCleary
Jim McCulley
Phil McGinnis
Brian Michalski
Paul Morrill
Michael Parkowski*
Frank Piorko
Marty Ross
Alex Schmidt
Porter Schutt*
Sen. Robert Venables
Bob Walls
Rep. Dave Wilson

Center for the Inland Bays
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers
DNREC- Coastal Programs
Dept. of Agriculture
Town of Middletown- LLG
Sussex County Planning
Delaware Nature Society
Division of Planning- Kent County
New Castle County Planning
Delaware House of Representatives
Delaware Senate
Town Hall Smyrna- LLG
Natural Resource Conservation Service
City of Seaford- LLG
Land Conservationist
Home Builders Association of Delaware
Delaware Association of Realtors
Delaware Forestry Association
Committee of 100
Delaware Bar Association
DNREC- Watershed Stewardship
Delaware Farm Bureau
Council of Engineering Companies
The Conservation Fund/Open Space Council
Delaware Senate
Farm Services Agency
Delaware House of Representatives

*Committee Co-Chairs 
**If a committee member is unable to attend they will send an alternate in their place.  The list of actual attendees is included in the meeting notes each month. 

Contact Information:
Mark Biddle, Phone: 302-739-9939

Other Inquiries:
Alison Rogerson
820 Silver Lake Blvd., Suite 220
Dover, DE 19904
Phone: 302-739-9939



Retrieving Data
site map   |   about this site   |    contact us   |    translate   |