Updated list of Certified Contractors for the installation, retrofit, and removal of underground storage tank systems.
Legislation requiring certification for contractors engaged in underground storage tank (UST) work was signed into law July 1994. All contractors performing installation, retrofit, removal, or closure in place of regulated USTs must be certified by the Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control (the Department), as required by 7 DE Admin. Code 1351, State of Delaware, Part G Regulations Governing Underground Storage Tank Systems (UST Regulations).
There are two types of contractor certification, individual On-site Supervisor (Class A) and Company (Class B).
On-site Supervisor (Class A)
A Class-A-certified On-site Supervisor must be present at all times when UST installations, retrofits, removals, and closures in place are actively in progress. The On-site Supervisor must be certified for the appropriate activity and must be a permanent employee of a business certified in Delaware to perform the work. To become a certified On-site Supervisor, submit a Class A Application with all requested information and documentation, including a check for $100 payable to State of Delaware.
Company (Class B)
A Class-B certification is required for any company performing UST installations, retrofits, removals, and closures in place. The company must name a qualified person to take the Class B examination. That person must submit a separate Class A Application to determine their qualifications. This person, upon successful completion of the requirements, will receive an On- site Supervisor (Class A) certification, in addition to certifying the company (Class B) for UST activities. In this case, the Class A application fee is waived. To become a certified company, submit a Class A Application for the qualifying person, Class B Application for the company, and all requested information and documentation, including a check for $250 payable to State of Delaware.
All companies applying for certification must submit proof of:
· A minimum of $1,000,000 General Liability Insurance
· A minimum of $250,000 Contractor’s Pollution Liability Insurance
· Current State of Delaware business license
To obtain a business license, contact the Division of Revenue at (302) 577-8778 or register online at https://onestop.delaware.gov/osbrlpublic/Home.jsp
DNREC will review and verify the information on all applications. Upon approval, the applicant will be notified and scheduled to appear at the Tank Management Section (TMS) office to take the Certification Examination(s). Upon successful completion, certification will be issued for a period of two years. UST contractor Certification Renewal Applications are sent automatically 45-60 days prior to expiration.
For questions regarding the UST contractor certification program, please contact Eric Borden at (302) 395-2500, or by email at: Eric.Bordon@state.de.us